The Promise of the Foreign - Nationalism and the Technics of Translation in the Spanish Philippines

Rafael, Vicente L

Published by Duke Univ
ISBN 10: 0822336510 / ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

BRAND NEW Hardcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Bookshop in business since 1992!. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.89 avg rating
(19 ratings)

Synopsis: In The Promise of the Foreign, Vicente L. Rafael argues that translation was key to the emergence of Filipino nationalism in the nineteenth century. Acts of translation entailed technics from which issued the promise of nationhood. Such a promise consisted of revising the heterogeneous and violent origins of the nation by mediating one’s encounter with things foreign while preserving their strangeness. Rafael examines the workings of the foreign in the Filipinos’ fascination with Castilian, the language of the Spanish colonizers. In Castilian, Filipino nationalists saw the possibility of arriving at a lingua franca with which to overcome linguistic, regional, and class differences. Yet they were also keenly aware of the social limits and political hazards of this linguistic fantasy.

Through close readings of nationalist newspapers and novels, the vernacular theater, and accounts of the 1896 anticolonial revolution, Rafael traces the deep ambivalence with which elite nationalists and lower-class Filipinos alike regarded Castilian. The widespread belief in the potency of Castilian meant that colonial subjects came in contact with a recurring foreignness within their own language and society. Rafael shows how they sought to tap into this uncanny power, seeing in it both the promise of nationhood and a menace to its realization. Tracing the genesis of this promise and the ramifications of its betrayal, Rafael sheds light on the paradox of nationhood arising from the possibilities and risks of translation. By repeatedly opening borders to the arrival of something other and new, translation compels the nation to host foreign presences to which it invariably finds itself held hostage. While this condition is perhaps common to other nations, Rafael shows how its unfolding in the Philippine colony would come to be claimed by Filipinos, as would the names of the dead and their ghostly emanations.

From the Publisher: "In the tradition of James Siegel and Benedict Anderson, Vincente L. Rafael has given us a daring book about the ambivalent origins of the nation in the Philippines. It will be loved and emulated by students of nationalism, Southeast Asia, and comparative literary studies everywhere. There is good reason for this, for it is a beautiful book, a book of readings for lovers of literature, a book about literature for the media age. Mostly, however, it is a book about the foreignness in us all: an unassailable refutation of nationalist ideologies of purity." [RR; PP] Rosalind C. Morris, author of In the Place of Origins: Modernity and Its Mediums in Northern Thailand

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Promise of the Foreign - Nationalism and...
Publisher: Duke Univ
Book Condition: BRAND NEW

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Vicente L.Rafael
Published by Duke University Press
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Duke University Press. Condition: New. Brand New. Seller Inventory # 0822336510

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 70.02
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Rafael, Vicente L
Published by Duke Univ
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Duke Univ. Condition: BRAND NEW. BRAND NEW Hardcover A Brand New Quality Book from a Full-Time Veteran Owned Bookshop in business since 1992!. Seller Inventory # 2684155

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 91.94
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Rafael, Vicente L.
Published by Duke University Press Books
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Duke University Press Books. Hardcover. Condition: Fine. 0822336510 Crisp, clean, unread hardcover with light shelfwear, missing dust jacket and a publisher's mark to one edge - Nice!. Seller Inventory # Z0822336510Z1

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 115.84
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Rafael, Vicente L.
Published by Duke University Press Books
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Midtown Scholar Bookstore
(Harrisburg, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Duke University Press Books. Hardcover. Condition: Fine. 0822336510 Crisp, clean, unread hardcover with light shelfwear, missing dust jacket and a publisher's mark to one edge - Nice!. Seller Inventory # Z0822336510Z1

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 112.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Vicente L. Rafael
Published by Duke University Press Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Duke University Press Books, 2005. Hardcover. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # SONG0822336510

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 125.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Vicente L. Rafael
Published by Duke University Press Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Duke University Press Books, 2005. Hardcover. Condition: New. Seller Inventory # DADAX0822336510

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 128.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Rafael, Vicente L.
Published by Duke University Press Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Duke University Press Books, 2005. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. Great condition with minimal wear, aging, or shelf wear. Seller Inventory # P020822336510

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 160.43
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Rafael, Vicente L.
Published by Duke University Press Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Duke University Press Books, 2005. Hardcover. Condition: New. Never used!. Seller Inventory # P110822336510

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy New
US$ 164.31
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 1.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Vicente L. Rafael
Published by Duke University Press Books (2005)
ISBN 10: 0822336510 ISBN 13: 9780822336518
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Minden, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Duke University Press Books, 2005. Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Seller Inventory # 0822336510-2-4

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 294.90
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds