Stock Image

RAZORBACKS: A Story of Arkansas Football


12 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 155728430X / ISBN 13: 9781557284303
Published by University of Arkansas Press, 1996
New Condition: New Soft cover
From Books Express (Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since August 14, 2015

Quantity Available: 1

Buy New
List Price: US$ 24.95
Price: US$ 113.74 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 155728430Xn

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: RAZORBACKS: A Story of Arkansas Football

Publisher: University of Arkansas Press

Publication Date: 1996

Binding: Paperback

Book Condition:New

About this title


From the humble beginnings in 1894, to the great programs of Frank Broyles, the National Championship in 1964, and Lou Holtz's Orange Bowl victory over Oklahoma in 1978, and then to Arkansas's recent re-entry into the national rankings with bowl invitations―the whole spectrum of Hog football is covered in this lively chronicle.

From the Back Cover:

Razorback football is an obsession in Arkansas, from the Ozarks to the Delta, and a rallying point for displaced Arkansans everywhere. The whole history of Hog football is covered in this lively chronicle. The story begins in 1894, when the playing field was a patch of spriggy dirt and the team players were derided as "thugs, pug-uglies, and roughnecks" by a local newspaper. For a time, Arkansas suffered sporadic losing seasons as the only non-Texas team in the Southwest Conference. Then Frank Broyles turned the program around and won a national championship in 1964. Later, Lou Holtz stunned the nation with a Razorback Orange Bowl victory over Oklahoma in 1978. In the 1990s, the Hogs have arrived in the Southeastern Conference, reentered national rankings, and gained bowl invitations. All the great names and major players are here, including Hugo Bezdek, Steve Creekmore, Wear Schoonover, John Barnhill, Preston Carpenter, Lance Alworth, Ken Hatfield, Bobby Crockett, Jim Lindsey, Jerry Jones, Bill Montgomery, Chuck Dicus, Ben Cowins, Ron Calcagni, Billy Ray Smith, Quinn Grovey, Danny Ford, Madre Hill, J. J. Meadors, and many more. Complete appendices detail the game schedules and statistics, the roster of coaches, the bowl game results, a list of all the lettermen, and the statistics of selected players.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Buy with confidence. Excellent customer service. 30 day return policy with a full refund if you are not completely satisfied with the book or its condition. Books Express LLC.

Shipping Terms:

Ships usually within one business day. Standard and expedited shipping options include shipping and handling costs. Default shipping is by USPS Media Mail and frequently USPS Priority Mail or UPS Ground is used. Books should arrive within 10-14 business days for expedited shipping, and 20-30 business days for standard shipping. Standard shipping can on occasion take up to 30 days for delivery.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal Invoice Bank Draft Bank/Wire Transfer Direct Debit (Personally Authorized Payment)