Stock Image

ROOSEVELT, NEW JERSEY; Big Dreams in a Small Town & What Time Did to Them

Rosskam, Edwin

0 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0670607517 / ISBN 13: 9780670607518
Published by Grossman, NY, 1972
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Gravelly Run Antiquarians (Dorothy, NJ, U.S.A.)

Heritage Bookseller
AbeBooks Member Since 1996

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 30.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Book: Small mark on front free endpaper from removal of owner's name sticker; Dust Jacket: Very slight edgewear ; 0.9 x 8.8 x 5.6 Inches; 148 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 31366

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: ROOSEVELT, NEW JERSEY; Big Dreams in a Small...

Publisher: Grossman, NY

Publication Date: 1972

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine

Edition: First Edition.

About this title

Synopsis:

Whether you count its birth date as 1934 or 1936 (dreams have vague beginnings), Roosevelt, New Jersey, began as a vision of a cooperative village where immigrant tailors from Poland or Russia were expected to work part-time in a cooperative garment factory and part-time on co-op-managed farms. Twelve hundred and fifty acres in the flat meadowlands of New Jersey were the site of the made village called Jersey Homesteads, the town that was to become Roosevelt, and that in time grew away from the utopian dream of Benjamin Brown to become the stetl of a newer generation of writers, artists, musicians, plumbers, carpenters, and just second-generation Americans. This book is the story of that young-old village; the journal of Benjamin Brown's early dream, of the coming of Ben Shahn to a hamlet school to paint a mural and then settle down in the heart of the place to become its most famous and in many ways most influential citizen. And the story is told by a man who has also been part of the history of that town, and who brings to what he has seen, and what he has heard of what he did not see, the unfailing eye of a great artist together with the ear and rhythm of a distinguished novelist, which together place his book squarely in the tradition of Akenfield and Division Street, U.S.A.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Established in 1988; Selling quality books online since 1995; Stocking over 15,000 items; Open by appointment only; Memeber of The New Jersey Antiquarian Booksellers Association.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Gravelly Run Antiquarians
17 Estelle Ave.
Dorothy, NJ 08317

Books@gravellyrun.com
609-476-4444 or
800-451-3989

Owner: Harry Reist

10 day hold; 10 day unconditional return.
Delivery confirmation included on all orders over $15.00.
Insurance included on purchases of $50.00 or more

PayPal; checks and money orders in US dollars; we do not bill.


Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books
weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may
contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Cash PayPal