N by E: A Record of Expeditioning North-By-East Across the Baffin Bay and Beyond

Kent, Rockwell

Published by Brewer & Warren, 1930
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. Here are our closest matches for N by E: A Record of Expeditioning North-By-East Across the Baffin Bay and Beyond by Kent, Rockwell.

Description:

Original beige cloth boards are clean. Natural canvas binding with bright title and compass design on front board and spine. . Bookplate (from the Library of William E. Boewing) glued to front paste down. End papers and interior are otherwise clean and bright. Text block is clean, top edge stained blue as issued. Illustrated throughout with B&W wood engravings by Kent. A Record of an Expedition North-by-East Across Baffin Bay & Beyond. Bookseller Inventory #

Bibliographic Details

Title: N by E: A Record of Expeditioning ...
Publisher: Brewer & Warren
Publication Date: 1930
Binding: Hardcover
Illustrator: Kent, Rockwell
Book Condition: Very Good
Edition: 1st Edition

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kent, Rockwell
Published by Blue Ribbon Books, New York (1933)
Used Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Ribbon Books, New York, 1933. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good+. Illustrated by Rockwell Kent (illustrator). Reprint; 1st Printing. B&W Illustrations; This book is in Very Good+ condition and is lacking a dust jacket. " The book and its contents are in generally clean, bright condition. The spine of the book has some light, noticeable toning and there are a couple of small nicks / tears to the bottom spine end as well. The text pages are clean and bright. The book is illustrated throughout with black and white illustrations by Rockwell Kent. "Transcendentalist and mystic in the tradition of Thoreau and Emerson, whose works he read, Kent found inspiration in the austerity and stark beauty of wilderness. After Monhegan, he lived for extended periods of time in Winona, Minnesota (19121913) , Newfoundland (191415) , Alaska (191819) , Vermont (19191925) , Tierra del Fuego (192223) , Ireland (1926) , and Greenland (1929; 193132; 193435). His series of land and seascapes from these often forbidding locales convey the Symbolist spirit evoking the mysteries and cosmic wonders of the natural world. "I don't want petty self-expression", Kent wrote, "I want the elemental, infinite thing; I want to paint the rhythm of eternity." "; Signed by Author. Bookseller Inventory # A35147

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 20.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Kent, Rockwell
Published by Brewer & Warren, New York (1930)
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hirschfeld Galleries
(Saint Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Brewer & Warren, New York, 1930. Cream Buckram w blue graphics. Book Condition: Very Good Plus. Kent, Rockwell (illustrator). First Edition. Original beige cloth boards are clean. Natural canv as binding with bright title and compass design on front board and spine.End papers and interior are clean and bright. Text block is clean, top edge stained blue as issued. Binding is square and solid. Illustrated throughout with B&W wood engravings by Kent. A Record of an Expedition North-by-East Across Baffin Bay & Beyond. Slight toning to endpapers and PON on FFEP. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Hardcover. Bookseller Inventory # 010465

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 70.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Rockwell Kent
Published by Brewer & Warren, New York (1930)
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Brewer & Warren, New York, 1930. Hard Cover. Book Condition: Very Good binding. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good dust jacket. First Edition. A clean copy of the First Trade Edition of Rockwell Kent's account of travelling from New York to Greenland. There is toning to the endpapers. The dustjacket has shelfwear, with minor loss to the spine extremities, a closed tears (about 1" long) at the rear panel next to the fold at the spine, a small chip at the top corner of the front panel. There are no marks in the book. The dustjacket is priced at the bottom of the rear flap. Very Good binding / Very Good dust jacket. Bookseller Inventory # 280424

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 125.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Kent, Rockwell
Published by Brewer & Warren, New York (1930)
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Randall Dollahon
(Miami, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Brewer & Warren, New York, 1930. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. 1st Edition. First US edition, first printing. A very good plus book with some scattered faint tiny spots on the cloth covers (probably foxing, though the spots are smaller than usual. Otherwise, the covers are clean. The pastedowns and endpages have some offsetting, and the foreedge of the textblock has a couple of thin, vertical strips of foxing. It is straight and tightly bound with a clean interior and a pristine charcoal topstain on the upper textblock edge. The jacket is very good, intact with light wear (a shallow chip at the upper spine, edge-rubbing, tiny chips and tears at the edges and corners. The front panel looks great, the spine lettering is a bit darkened (still legible) and the rear panel is somewhat toned. A decent copy of this landmark illustrated book at an attractive price. Bookseller Inventory # T728

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 150.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kent, Rockwell
Published by Brewer & Warren, Chicago (1930)
Used Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Round Table Books, LLC
(Glenview, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Brewer & Warren, Chicago, 1930. Hard Cover. Book Condition: Very Good+. Dust Jacket Condition: Good. Illustrated by Rockwell Kent (illustrator). First Trade Edition. 1. Inscribed by the author on the fep. Publisher's full tan cloth with navy lettering on spine. B&W illustrations by Rockwell Kent. . Endpapers are lightly soiled, fore-edge has a few small droplet marks, else unmarked, tight and square. Dust jacket is significantly chipped with loss at head of spin but is not price clipped. VERY GOOD+/GOOD . B & W Illustrations. 8vo 8" - 9" tall. Signed by Author. Bookseller Inventory # 14829

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 225.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Kent, Rockwell
Published by Brewer & Warren, New York (1930)
Used Hardcover First Edition Signed Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Brewer & Warren, New York, 1930. Hardcover. Book Condition: Near Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. Illustrated by Rockwell Kent (illustrator). 1st Trade Edition; 1st Printing. B&W Illustrations; SIGNED EDITION. This book is in Near Fine condition and has a Very Good dust jacket. The book and its contents are in mostly clean, bright condition. The text pages are mostly clean and bright, but there is some light generalized toning to the endpapers and edges of the text block. The dust jacket has edge wear and nicking along with rubbing and tears to the spine ends and flaps. There is one chip missing from the middle spine of the dust jacket. Trade copies of this book with the dust jacket are actually quite scarce in comparison to the limnited edition. This copy has been signed, with an inscription on the front endpaper. "A transcendentalist and mystic in the tradition of Thoreau and Emerson, whose works he read, Kent found inspiration in the austerity and stark beauty of wilderness. After Monhegan, he lived for extended periods of time in Winona, Minnesota (19121913), Newfoundland (191415), Alaska (191819), Vermont (19191925), Tierra del Fuego (192223), Ireland (1926), and Greenland (1929; 193132; 193435). His series of land and seascapes from these often forbidding locales convey the Symbolist spirit evoking the mysteries and cosmic wonders of the natural world. "I don't want petty self-expression", Kent wrote, "I want the elemental, infinite thing; I want to paint the rhythm of eternity."; Signed by Author. Bookseller Inventory # A33264

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 600.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds