Redeemed: A Spiritual Misfit Stumbles Toward God, Marginal Sanity, and the Peace That Passes All Understanding

Heather King

Published by Viking Adult
ISBN 10: 0670018635 / ISBN 13: 9780670018635
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Minimal wear to cover. Pages clean and binding tight. Hardcover. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.74 avg rating
(248 ratings)

Synopsis: An NPR commentator’s story of an unlikely epiphany and the healing power of faith

After years of sleeping around, working as a waitress, and suffering booze- induced blackouts, Heather King settled into sobriety, marriage, and a financially lucrative but unfulfilling career in a Beverly Hills law firm. As someone who had reached middle age “never believing in much of anything,” she found herself in the last place she thought she’d end up: the Catholic church.

Redeemed describes the steps of King’s journey—from finding herself holed up on the couch reading Hermits of the World (and then wondering why she and her husband weren’t having sex) to dealing with the breast cancer that brought her face-to-face with the Virgin Mary. With the death of her father and the devastation of divorce, she connects with Jesus Christ: “A guy who hung out with lepers, paralytics, the possessed: this is someone I can trust.”

This is a profound, fervent, darkly funny tale of an ongoing conversion by a Catholic who, however devout, is about as far from saintlike as can be imagined. Fans of Lauren Winners’s Girl Meets God and Anne Lamott’s writings will be drawn to King’s refreshing sense of humor, mesmerizing voice, and piercing honesty.

About the Author: A lawyer turned writer, Heather King is a commentator for NPR’s All Things Considered and a communicant at St. Thomas the Apostle Church in Los Angeles. She is the author of the memoir Parched. Her work has appeared in the Best American Spiritual Writing anthologies.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Redeemed: A Spiritual Misfit Stumbles Toward...
Publisher: Viking Adult
Book Condition: Very Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

King, Heather
Published by Viking Adult (2008)
ISBN 10: 0670018635 ISBN 13: 9780670018635
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult, 2008. Book Condition: Good. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP11439359

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

King, Heather
Published by Viking Adult (2008)
ISBN 10: 0670018635 ISBN 13: 9780670018635
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult, 2008. Book Condition: Very Good. Ships from Reno, NV. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP92872439

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Heather King
Published by Viking Adult
ISBN 10: 0670018635 ISBN 13: 9780670018635
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. Very Good copy, cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. Binding may have light creases. Lots of life left in these pages. Bookseller Inventory # 2737234446

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Heather King
Published by Viking Adult
ISBN 10: 0670018635 ISBN 13: 9780670018635
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. Cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. May have creases on the cover and binding caused from handling and reading. Some pages may contain writing and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2748977333

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Heather King
Published by Viking Adult
ISBN 10: 0670018635 ISBN 13: 9780670018635
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. little to no wear, pages are clean. The cover and binding are crisp with next no creases. Bookseller Inventory # 2789443555

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

King, Heather
Published by Viking Adult
ISBN 10: 0670018635 ISBN 13: 9780670018635
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Green Earth Books
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Viking Adult. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Light shelving wear with minimal damage to cover and bindings. Pages show minor use. Bookseller Inventory # G0670018635I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Heather King
Published by Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0670018635 ISBN 13: 9780670018635
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Yankee Clipper Books
(Windsor Locks, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory # G0670018635I5N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Heather King
Published by Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0670018635 ISBN 13: 9780670018635
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Silver Arch Books
(St Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: As New. Nearly brand new book that shows only slight signs of wear. Bookseller Inventory # G0670018635I2N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Heather King
Published by Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0670018635 ISBN 13: 9780670018635
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free State Books
(Halethorpe, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. This copy shows very minor wear. Bookseller Inventory # G0670018635I4N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Heather King
Published by Penguin Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0670018635 ISBN 13: 9780670018635
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Atlanta Book Company
(Atlanta, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Penguin Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear and the pages have only minimal creases. Bookseller Inventory # G0670018635I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 14 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book