Stock Image

The Rice Mother

Rani Manicka

Published by Viking Adult June 2003, 2003
ISBN 10: 0670031925 / ISBN 13: 9780670031924
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 1
From Don Quixote Book Sellers (Sparta, NJ, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 25.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Return Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: The Rice Mother

Publisher: Viking Adult June 2003

Publication Date: 2003

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine (F)

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed By Author

Edition: First Edition.

Description:

SIGNED BY AUTHOR. Author signature pasted on the first fly page. Very collectable condition. Appears unread, crisp, clean, bright and tight. First Edition, First printing. Fine/no jacket as issue GREAT CONDITION, BEAUTIFUL COPY. A remarkable family story with the matriach having been born in Ceylon and married off at 14, survining WWII and the Japanese occupation, wresting her family from poverty--a great grand-daughter pieces together her family history and is the fruition of a family legacy. Bookseller Inventory # 6516

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
4.07 avg rating
(3,874 ratings)

Synopsis: Nothing in Lakshmi's childhood, running carefree and barefoot on the sun-baked earth amid the coconut and mango trees of Ceylon, could have prepared her for what life was to bring her. At fourteen, she finds herself traded in marriage across the ocean to a stranger in the fascinating land of Malaysia. Duped into thinking her new husband is wealthy, she instead finds herself struggling to raise a family with a man too impractical to face reality and a world that is, by turns, unyielding and amazing, brutal and beautiful. Undaunted, she becomes a formidable matriarch, determined to wrest from the world a better life for her daughters and sons and to face every new challenge with almost mythic strength.

A multigenerational narrative that spans the nightmare of World War II and the Japanese occupation, The Rice Mother gorgeously evokes a world of exotic beauty and vivid characters, where small pleasures offset unimaginable horrors. It is a powerful story of laughter and loss, love and betrayal, in a world where ghosts and gods walk hand-in-hand. Perfect for readers of Amy Tan, Isabel Allende, and Arundhati Roy, The Rice Mother marks the luminous debut of a writer whose universal themes will touch readers, especially women, the world over.

About the Author: Rani Manicka, an economics graduate, was born and educated in Malaysia. Infused with her own South Asian family history, The Rice Mother is her first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • MasterCard
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Seller a Question]

Bookseller: Don Quixote Book Sellers
Address: Sparta, NJ, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: April 16, 2008
Bookseller Rating: 2-star rating

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 48 hours of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about
a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to
contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.



Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG and with an average shipping distance . If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. For International shipping they should call for shipping amount.


Store Description: Husband and wife that has been collecting for Fifty years more or less and now are also book sellers. Mostly first Edition. We specialize on books of Mystery, Fantasy, Sci-fi. Romance, Biography, Art, Coffee table, Poetry, literature, Humor, Kids books, Pop-ups, Advance copies,Comic Books BUT our specialty is on HISTORY and MILITARY History.