Stock Image

Rogue Island

Bruce Desilva

1,657 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0765327260 / ISBN 13: 9780765327260
Published by Forge, New York, 2010
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Rascal Books (Kansas city, MO, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since June 16, 2003

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 70.27 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.25 Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Mylar protected. Signed , DATED and LINED. Bookseller Inventory # 004523

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Rogue Island

Publisher: Forge, New York

Publication Date: 2010

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: First Edition/First Printing

About this title

Synopsis:

Liam Mulligan is as old school as a newspaper man gets. His beat is Providence, Rhode Island, and he knows every street and alley. He knows the priests and prostitutes, the cops and street thugs. He knows the mobsters and politicians--who are pretty much one and the same. Someone is systematically burning down the neighborhood Mulligan grew up in, people he knows and loves are perishing in the flames, and the public is on the verge of panic. With the police looking for answers in all the wrong places, and with the whole city of Providence on his back, Mulligan must find the hand that strikes the match.

From the Author:

What the world's greatest crime-fiction writers are saying about Rogue Island:

"A tense, teriffic thriller," Dennis Lehane

"Rogue Island is a blast!" -- Michael Connelly

"A stunning debut in the noir tradition." -- Harlan Coben

""I could have written a whole essay on how much I loved Rogue Island." -- Ken Bruen

"Not since Dennis Lehane's A Drink Before the War have I read a first novel as sure-handed." -- James W. Hall

"Fans of Michael Connelly and Robert B. Parker, rejoice!: -- Peter Blauner

"Rogue Island is a stunning debut." -- Alafair Burke

"I haven't been this impressed since I discovered some guy named Robert B. Parker." -- Ace Atkins

"Bruce DeSilva accomplishes something remarkable. He takes everything we love about the classic hard-boiled detective novel and turns it into a story that's fresh, contemporary, yet timeless." -- Joseph Finder

"Witty as it is intelligent, smoothly written and wryly told, a gem." -- Thomas H. Cook

"DeSilva writes with a master's understanding of the genre." -- Marcus Sakey

"Bruce DeSilva knows exactly how thrillers work, and he pulls out all the stops in this impressive debut." -- Sean Chercover

"A welcome new rogue voice in American fiction." -- Tim Dorsey

"When it comes to fresh noir-on-wry, readers could not ask for more." -- Otto Penzler

"Rogue Island" is just my kind of book: beautifully written, to the point, very nasty, and with a hell of a twist -- Sara Gran

What some other knowledgable book-lovers are saying:

"I love to discover a new author who handles his plot, characters and location with such skill." -- Doug Robinson, co-owner of the Eagle Eye Book Shop, Decatur, GA

"Rogue Island is the funniest and best-written suspense novel I've read in years. . . . Don't be fooled, though, by the non-stop drama, horror, and black humor of DeSilva's first novel. For all its merits as a thriller, Rogue Island is a highly serious work of fiction combining a fascinating and authentic evocation of a 21st-century American city with a lyrical tribute to the dying newspaper business." -- Howard Frank Mosher, critically acclaimed author of Walking to Gatlinburg and Waiting for Teddy Williams.
 

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

INternet bookseller specializing in collectable signed first editions..

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Missouri residents will be charged 7.85% sales tax.

All items are subject to prior sale. Items are returnable within 7 days of receipt for any reason. Please notify us first.

Rascal, INC
P.O. Box 480601
Kansas City, MO 64148-0601

rascal1030@kc.rr.com

816 591/0389


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal