The Rose

Jennifer Potter

Published by Atlantic Books
ISBN 10: 1848871775 / ISBN 13: 9781848871779
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Hardcover. 544 pages. Dimensions: 9.3in. x 7.2in. x 1.9in.Now available in a small gift formata vividly written and lavishly illustrated history of the Queen of Flowers, for fans of Anna Pavords The Tulip and Andrea Wulfs The Brothers GardenerEver since Sappho planted roses at the shrine of Aphrodite, no flower has captured theimagination in quite the same way. Here, the acclaimed horticultural historian Jennifer Potter sets out on a quest to uncover the life of a flower that has been viewed so heterogeneously by different cultures in different countries across the centuries. Beginning her story in the Greek and Roman empires, she travels across Europe, the Middle East, Asia, and the Americas to unravel its evolution from a simple briar of the northern hemisphere to the height of cultivated perfection found in rose gardens today. Whether laying bare the flowers long association with sexuality and secret societies, questioning the Crusaders role in bringing roses back from the Holy Land, or hunting for its elusive blooms in the gardens of the Empress Josephine at Malmaison, Jennifer Potter reveals why this flower, above all others, has provoked such fascination. This item ships from multiple locations. Your book may arrive from Roseburg,OR, La Vergne,TN. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.89 avg rating
(19 ratings)

Synopsis: Now available in a small gift format?a vividly written and lavishly illustrated history of the Queen of Flowers, for fans of Anna Pavord's The Tulip and Andrea Wulf's The Brothers Gardener   Ever since Sappho planted roses at the shrine of Aphrodite, no flower has captured the imagination in quite the same way. Here, the acclaimed horticultural historian Jennifer Potter sets out on a quest to uncover the life of a flower that has been viewed so heterogeneously by different cultures in different countries across the centuries. Beginning her story in the Greek and Roman empires, she travels across Europe, the Middle East, Asia, and the Americas to unravel its evolution from a simple briar of the northern hemisphere to the height of cultivated perfection found in rose gardens today. Whether laying bare the flower's long association with sexuality and secret societies, questioning the Crusaders' role in bringing roses back from the Holy Land, or hunting for its elusive blooms in the gardens of the Empress Josephine at Malmaison, Jennifer Potter reveals why this flower, above all others, has provoked such fascination.

About the Author: Jennifer Potter is the author of Secret Gardens and Strange Blooms: The Curious Lives and Adventures of the John Tradescants. She reviews regularly for the Times Literary Supplement.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Rose
Publisher: Atlantic Books

Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: New

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Potter, Jennifer
Published by Atlantic Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Superlative Selections
(franklin, TN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2013. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000194387

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 2.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Good4Books UK
(Kent, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover Oct 01, 2012. Book Condition: Used: Like New. *** NEW & UNREAD!!! *** minor bump/shelfwear to outer. Bookseller Inventory # The Rose x 6 1115 - SP1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 11.15
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller
Good4Books UK
(Kent, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover Oct 01, 2012. Book Condition: New. **BRAND NEW - MINT CONDITION**. Same day despatch on all orders received by 3pm. Bookseller Inventory # K2294 WORKS 0715

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 6
Seller
Good4Books UK
(Kent, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover Oct 01, 2012. Book Condition: New. *** BRAND NEW COPIES in PRISTINE condition! *** - same day posting & secure packaging. Bookseller Inventory # The Rose x 10 - S1

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.90
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Potter, Jennifer
Published by Atlantic Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2013. Book Condition: Used. This Book is in Good Condition. Clean Copy With Light Amount of Wear. 100% Guaranteed. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_usedgood_1848871775

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 15.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Potter, Jennifer
Published by Atlantic Books (2013)
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Book Deals
(Lewiston, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Atlantic Books, 2013. Book Condition: New. Brand New, Unread Copy in Perfect Condition. A+ Customer Service!. Bookseller Inventory # ABE_book_new_1848871775

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Jennifer Potter
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Brand New. Book Condition: Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 97818488717791.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 11.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Potter, Jennifer
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Quantity Available: 5
Seller
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Bookseller Inventory # 17842388-n

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Potter, Jennifer
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 1848871775

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 17.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Potter, Jennifer
Published by Trafalgar Square (2013)
ISBN 10: 1848871775 ISBN 13: 9781848871779
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Commerce, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Trafalgar Square, 2013. HRD. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # TT-9781848871779

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.97
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 11 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book