Running the Table: The Legend of Kid Delicious, the Last Great American Pool Hustler

Wertheim, L. Jon

Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2007
ISBN 10: 0618664742 / ISBN 13: 9780618664740
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! j. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.77 avg rating
(189 ratings)

Synopsis: From a popular senior writer for Sports Illustrated comes this high-stakes, boys-on-the-road story about the most unlikely of phenoms--a heavyset, bipolar, and endlessly charming pool hustler named Kid Delicious

In most sports the pinnacle is Wheaties-box notoriety. But in the world of pool, notoriety is the last thing a hustler desires. Such is the dilemma that faces one Danny Basavich, an affable, generously proportioned Jewish kid from Jersey, who flounders through high school until he discovers the one thing he excels at--the felt--and hits the road.

Running the Table spins the outrageous tale of Kid Delicious and his studly--if less talented--set-up man, Bristol Bob. Never was there a more entertaining or mismatched pair of sidekicks, as together they go underground into the flavorfully seamy world of pool to learn the art of the hustle and experience the highs and lows of life on the road. Their four-year odyssey takes them from Podunk pool halls to slick urban billiard rooms across America, as they manage one night to take down as much as $30,000, only to lose so much the next night that they lack gas money to get home. With every stop, the action gets hotter, the calls get closer, and Delicious’s prowess with a cue stick becomes known more and more widely. Ultimately, Delicious sheds his cover once and for all and becomes professional pool’s biggest sensation since Minnesota Fats.

In a book sure to appeal to fans of Bringing Down the House and Positively Fifth Street, Wertheim evokes a subculture full of nefarious but loveable characters and illuminates America’s fascination with games and gambling. He also paints a lasting portrait of an insanely talented and magnetic hustler, who is literally larger than life.

About the Author: L. Jon Wertheim is the author of three previous books and the forthcoming Blood in the Cage: Mixed Martial Arts, Pat Miletich, and the Furious Rise of the UFC. Film rights to Running the Table were optioned by Lions Gate, and the film is currently in development. He is a senior writer for Sports Illustrated and lives in New York.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Running the Table: The Legend of Kid ...
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication Date: 2007
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Wertheim, L. Jon
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2007)
ISBN 10: 0618664742 ISBN 13: 9780618664740
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2007. Book Condition: Good. First Edition. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP8658601

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Wertheim, L. Jon
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2007)
ISBN 10: 0618664742 ISBN 13: 9780618664740
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2007. Book Condition: Very Good. First Edition. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP96557059

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Wertheim, L. Jon
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2007)
ISBN 10: 0618664742 ISBN 13: 9780618664740
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2007. Book Condition: Good. First Edition. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP96723979

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.74
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

L. Jon Wertheim
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN 10: 0618664742 ISBN 13: 9780618664740
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Hardcover. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. Cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. May have creases on the cover and binding caused from handling and reading. Some pages may contain writing and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2768845194

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

L. Jon Wertheim
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN 10: 0618664742 ISBN 13: 9780618664740
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Good clean copy with no missing pages might be an ex library copy; Possibly may have minor marginal notes and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2779603908

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

L. Jon Wertheim
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN 10: 0618664742 ISBN 13: 9780618664740
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Hardcover. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. little to no wear, pages are clean. The cover and binding are crisp with next no creases. Bookseller Inventory # 2780969036

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

L. Jon Wertheim
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN 10: 0618664742 ISBN 13: 9780618664740
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Good clean copy with no missing pages might be an ex library copy; Possibly may have minor marginal notes and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2784781846

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Wertheim, L. Jon
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt (2007)
ISBN 10: 0618664742 ISBN 13: 9780618664740
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2007. Book Condition: Very Good. First Edition. Ships from the UK. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP96070877

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.84
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

L. Jon Wertheim
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
ISBN 10: 0618664742 ISBN 13: 9780618664740
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Silver Arch Books
(St Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Book has a small amount of wear visible on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G0618664742I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

L. Jon Wertheim
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
ISBN 10: 0618664742 ISBN 13: 9780618664740
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Sierra Nevada Books
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Bookseller Inventory # G0618664742I5N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 37 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book