Stock Image


Delany, Vicki

85 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1590581415 / ISBN 13: 9781590581414
Published by Poisoned Pen Press, Scottsdale, Arizona, U.S.A., 2005
Condition: Very Fine Hardcover
From Kathleen Simpson (Simi Valley, CA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since July 15, 1998

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 35.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

A 337 page debut thriller set in Canada. SIGNED by the author on the title page. First edition, first printing. New and unread. Dust jacket is enclosed in a clear mylar cover. Book will be carefully packed and shipped in a box. Bookseller Inventory # 14491

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details


Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press, Scottsdale, Arizona, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2005

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition:Very Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Very Fine

Signed: Signed by Author

Edition: First Edition

About this title


Recently widowed Rebecca McKenzie, a successful Vancouver businesswoman, returns to small-town Hope River after an absence of 30 years to attend her mother's funeral. Estranged from her father and two older siblings, she's left a brutal childhood and a psychopathic grandfather behind. She expects her visit home to be short. but then she discovers the diaries written by her mother, a British war bride with a young baby who came to Canada to join a husband she scarcely knew. Rebecca (and the reader) find her heart wrung by her mother's story.

Meanwhile, a young girl has gone missing, and the suspicions of the townspeople fall on Rebecca's handsome, charming brother Jimmy. Before long, violence threatens and Rebecca must put aside some long-held grievances to protect Jimmy and find the real killer.

This debut novel will appeal to readers of Jacqueline Winspear's Maisie Dobbs and Pip Granger's Not All Tarts Are Apple and its sequels, evoking admiration, respect, and sympathy for members of The Greatest Generation, both English and Canadian.

About the Author:

Having taken early retirement from her job as a systems analyst in the high-pressure financial world, Vicki Delaney is settling down into the rural life in bucolic Prince Edward County, Ontario.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Modern Fiction and Mystery. New and used. Many signed. For further information, please contact me at 805-582-0162.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Kathleen Simpson, 2992 Chippewa Avenue, Simi Valley, CA 93063. Telephone and
fax number 805-579-9656. E-mail is Shipping and handling via
Media Mail. Priority mail available upon request. Shipping and handling is
quoted for heavy books and foreign orders. Full refund for books returned in
as-shipped condition within 10 days of shipping date, for any reason. Books can
be held for 10 days with E-mail or telephone request. Prices are subject to
change without notice until receipt o...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. See Terms of Sale below.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express