SPIRITS OF THE ORDINARY: A Tale of Casas Grandes.

Alcala, Kathleen.

Published by San Francisco: Chronicle Books, (1997.) dj
ISBN 10: 0811814475 / ISBN 13: 9780811814478
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

SIGNED hardcover first edition - First printing. The first novel by this Mexican American writer (preceded by a collection of short stories), one which opens in 1870 with the story of the Caraval family in Northern Mexico, a family which has long been clandestine Jews. SIGNED on the title page. 244 pp. Fine in fine dust jacket. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Synopsis: A spectacular tapestry of folklore, spirituality, and constantly shifting landscapes, this enchanting and original first novel will appeal to readers of Isabel Allende, All the Pretty Horses, and Like Water for Chocolate. Unfolding a rare and haunting gift for story-telling, Kathleen Alcalá begins her tale in the 1880s and follows three generations of the Carabajal family on a path of forbidden love and hidden belief that wends across the Mexico-Texas border. Estela risks the security of her comfortable home and children to pursue a consuming passion. Her husband, Zacarìas, is guided by an inexplicable spiritual longing and his affinity for the indigenous people who dwell in the cliffs of Casas Grandes. Zacarìas's father, a cloistered Jew, studies the ancient wisdom of the Torah and the Cabala, hoping to unlock the secrets of his son's future. The truth, when it comes, will surprise all of them.

View the Reading Guide for
Spirits of the Ordinary

Review: Kathleen Alcalá's first novel, Spirits of the Ordinary, opens in 1870s Mexico where Zacarias Caraval abandons his family and the religion of his fathers--Judaism--to search for gold in the desert. His wife, Estela, responds by declaring herself independent and taking a lover--an action frowned upon in the small village of Saltillo. Zacarias's wanderings take him into the mountains of Northern Mexico and to the cliff dwellings of Casas Grandes, where he witnesses a massacre--an event that will have a profound affect on him and will eventually send him back to the faith he has abandoned. Spirits of the Ordinary is the first book of a projected trilogy and judging by the quality of Ms. Alcalá's work so far, the next two volumes will be eagerly awaited.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: SPIRITS OF THE ORDINARY: A Tale of Casas ...
Publisher: San Francisco: Chronicle Books, (1997.) dj

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Kathleen Alcal
Published by Chronicle Books
ISBN 10: 0811814475 ISBN 13: 9780811814478
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chronicle Books. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2837809879

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Chronicle Books LLC Staff, Kathleen Alcal
Published by Chronicle Books LLC (1997)
ISBN 10: 0811814475 ISBN 13: 9780811814478
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chronicle Books LLC, 1997. Condition: Very Good. 1ST. Ships from Reno, NV. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP97936540

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Chronicle Books LLC Staff, Kathleen Alcal
Published by Chronicle Books LLC (1997)
ISBN 10: 0811814475 ISBN 13: 9780811814478
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chronicle Books LLC, 1997. Condition: Very Good. 1ST. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP98525929

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Chronicle Books LLC Staff, Kathleen Alcal
Published by Chronicle Books LLC (1997)
ISBN 10: 0811814475 ISBN 13: 9780811814478
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chronicle Books LLC, 1997. Condition: Good. 1ST. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP3108589

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Kathleen Alcal
Published by Chronicle Books
ISBN 10: 0811814475 ISBN 13: 9780811814478
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chronicle Books. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2894825753

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Alcal, Kathleen
Published by Chronicle Books
ISBN 10: 0811814475 ISBN 13: 9780811814478
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Wonder Book
(Frederick, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chronicle Books. Condition: As New. Very Good dust jacket. Seller Inventory # D14H-00001

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Kathleen Alcala
Published by Chronicle Books LLC
ISBN 10: 0811814475 ISBN 13: 9780811814478
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chronicle Books LLC. Hardcover. Condition: Very Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in excellent condition. Pages are intact and are not marred by notes or highlighting, but may contain a neat previous owner name. The spine remains undamaged. An ex-library book and may have standard library stamps and/or stickers. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0811814475I4N10

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Chronicle Books LLC Staff, Kathleen Alcal
Published by Chronicle Books LLC (1997)
ISBN 10: 0811814475 ISBN 13: 9780811814478
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books Ltd
(Dunfermline, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chronicle Books LLC, 1997. Condition: Very Good. 1ST. Ships from the UK. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP99175178

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.45
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Alcal, Kathleen
Published by Chronicle Books
ISBN 10: 0811814475 ISBN 13: 9780811814478
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Wonder Book
(Frederick, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Chronicle Books. Condition: As New. First edition copy. . Very Good dust jacket. Seller Inventory # SB16D-01096

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Alcal, Kathleen
ISBN 10: 0811814475 ISBN 13: 9780811814478
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Jenson Online Inc
(Logan, UT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Condition: VeryGood. A well-cared-for item that has seen limited use but remains in great condition. The item is complete, unmarked, and undamaged, but may show some limited signs of wear. Item works perfectly. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine is undamaged. Seller Inventory # 4BQM1A003YJ3_ns

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 5.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 33 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book