Stock Image
Sarah, Plain and Tall: MacLachlan, Patricia Sarah, Plain and Tall: MacLachlan, Patricia

Sarah, Plain and Tall

MacLachlan, Patricia

ISBN 10: 0060241012 / ISBN 13: 9780060241018
Published by Harper & Row, New York, 1985
Condition: Near Fine Hardcover
From Caliban Books Pittsburgh PA, ABAA (Pittsburgh, PA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since January 18, 1998

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 175.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Inscribed by the author. Later printing (number line begins with a 4), 1985. Cloth-backed boards in dust jacket, 58 pp., clean unmarked text, Near Fine copy in Very Good dust jacket, a bit of soiling or discoloration to the dust jacket, rubbing and wear to the edges of the dust jacket including some creasing and light tearing, Newbery medal sticker affixed to the front panel of the dust jacket. Dust jacket housed in archival dust jacket protector. Signed by MacLachlan and inscribed by her to Margaret Kimmel. Margaret "Maggie" Kimmel (1938-2014) was a distinguished professor of Library Sciences, and was also a past president of the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA). She pioneered the field of oral story-telling to children, authored the children's book Magic in the Mist (illustrated by Trina Schart Hyman) in 1975, and co-authored For Reading Out Loud! She served on two Newbery/Caldecott awards. She was also good friends with Fred Rogers and many other children's book authors. Bookseller Inventory # s00013501

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Sarah, Plain and Tall

Publisher: Harper & Row, New York

Publication Date: 1985

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Near Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: very good

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: Later printing.

About this title

Synopsis:

Amazon Editors recommend this book for readers who enjoy chapter books with more complexity or entry-level middle grade novels.

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb’s Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather’s Dance.

Review:

MacLachlan, author of Unclaimed Treasures, has written an affecting tale for children. In the late 19th century a widowed midwestern farmer with two children--Anna and Caleb--advertises for a wife. When Sarah arrives she is homesick for Maine, especially for the ocean which she misses greatly. The children fear that she will not stay, and when she goes off to town alone, young Caleb--whose mother died during childbirth--is stricken with the fear that she has gone for good. But she returns with colored pencils to illustrate for them the beauty of Maine, and to explain that, though she misses her home, "the truth of it is I would miss you more." The tale gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

BOOKS ON ABE ARE AT OUR WAREHOUSE, NOT THE SHOP! (The store in Pittsburgh has thousands of carefully chosen books for readers and collectors; our warehouse in nearby Wilkinsburg has 75,000 cataloged items and 100,000 other sundry books and ephemera). Caliban Book Shop is a proud member of ABAA and ILAB; we have a great staff of smart, friendly, decent, helpful people. Calibanbooks is committed to great online service and great personal service. Questions about our books, prices and policies can be directed to Calibanbooks by using ABE's "Ask Bookseller a Question" icon, which is located to the right under "Bookseller & Payment Information" -- operators are standing by!

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Caliban Books conforms to ABE's policies for postage, returns and condition
descriptions. For questions regarding Calibanbooks prices, books, policies (or any
other question you can think of), we urge you to contact us using ABE's "Ask
Bookseller a Question" icon (under "Bookseller & Payment Information").

Caliban Books, LLC, PO Box 86094, Wilkinsburg PA 15221


Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. ABE's suggested shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 pounds (1kg). If your item is heavy, over-sized or comes in multiple volumes, we will contact you to request extra postage. Our postal charges reflect current rates and are not "padded" with any extra charges for "handling" etc. Any other questions concerning shipping, pricing, and our policies can be directed to Calibanbooks by using ABE's "Ask Bookseller a Question" icon to the right side under "Bookseller & Payment Information."

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check PayPal