Stock Image

Scaling the Ivory Tower: Merit and Its Limits in Academic Careers (Foundations of Higher Education)

Lewis, Lionel S.

0 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1560009586 / ISBN 13: 9781560009580
Published by Transaction Publishers, 1997
Used Condition: Good Soft cover
From Open Books (Chicago, IL, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since October 14, 2016

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 22.32 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Open Books is a nonprofit social venture that provides literacy experiences for thousands of readers each year through inspiring programs and creative capitalization of books. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000096990

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Scaling the Ivory Tower: Merit and Its ...

Publisher: Transaction Publishers

Publication Date: 1997

Binding: Paperback

Book Condition:Good

About this title


Following in the tradition of Thorstein Veblen's Higher Learning in America, Lionel S. Lewis has amassed solid evidence to support his conclusions about what leads to success in Scaling the Ivory Tower. As background to his consideration of academic freedom, sexism, merit, tenure, and other such highly charged subjects, Lewis examines the attitudes of those in universities toward academic qualification. The modern rule of thumb has become publish or perish. According to Lewis, however, research and publication may not be such prime considerations after all.

Two thought-provoking chapters are devoted to an examination of letters of recommendation as important factors in hiring and promoting in the academic world. Lewis also scrutinizes academic freedom cases from the archives of the American Association of University Professors. Other intriguing issues examined by Lewis are: how spouses and significant others factor into whether or not a professor gets a promotion; a typical day in the life, both academic and personal, of a professor; how the celebrity syndrome has spread to campus; discrimination against women; and bureaucracy as a contributing factor to campus unrest.

In the new introduction, Lewis affirms that the most apparent changes in higher education since Scaling the Ivory Tower was initially published have actually made the campus less meritocratic, and less a place where quality academic work is recognized and rewarded. One contributing factor is the necessity to consider age, gender, ethnicity, and race in personnel decisions. Because many on campus are convinced that academic life can only be improved when the demographics of faculty reflect those in the larger society, departments are routinely expected to explain why they did not fill an opening with someone from an underrepresented group. While showing some irreverence toward academia, Scaling the Ivory Tower should also provoke sober consideration of where our colleges and universities are headed. This is a significant volume for university administrators, academics, and graduate students.

About the Author:

Lionel S. Lewis is professor emeritus of sociology and adjunct professor of higher education at SUNY/Buffalo. He has written more than one hundred fifty research articles, essays, and reviews. He is the author of Cold War on Campus: A Study of the Politics of Organizational Control and Academic Governance: The Lattimore Case at Johns Hopkins.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Open Books is a nonprofit social venture that provides literacy experiences for thousands of readers each year through inspiring programs and creative capitalization of books. We are a 501(c)3 with all proceeds going to our literacy enrichment programs.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

All items subject to prior sale. Refunds and returns within 30 days of shipment with authorization.

Shipping Terms:

All orders ship within 2 business days. Most domestic orders shipped with USPS Bound Printed Matter with delivery confirmation, delivery within 2 weeks. Expedited orders ship via USPS Priority Mail. International Orders ship via USPS International Prioriry, delivery between 7-21 business days. Standard international shipping is expedited service.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express