Stock Image

Schopenhauer's Telescope

Gerard Donovan

343 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1582432236 / ISBN 13: 9781582432236
Published by Counterpoint Press, 2003
Used Condition: Fine Hardcover
From 24/7 BOOKS (Ypsilanti, MI, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since January 14, 2011

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 3.99 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.49 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

100% buyer satisfaction guarantee. *Some of our items are sealed to protect them during shipping and to maintain their listed condition* International orders over 2lbs may be subject to shipping price adjustments. Bookseller Inventory # non0000009743

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Schopenhauer's Telescope

Publisher: Counterpoint Press

Publication Date: 2003

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fine

About this title

Synopsis:

Part love story, part moral treatise, part theatre of the absurd, this brilliant first novel is an examination of the complexity of the human spirit, for readers of Knut Hamsun, Bernhard Schlink, and Paul Auster.

In an unnamed European village, in the middle of a civil war, one man digs while another watches over him. Slowly, they begin to talk. Over the course of the afternoon, as snow falls and truckloads of villagers are corralled in the next field, we discover why they are there--not just who they are but also how sinister events in the country have led them to be separated by a deepening grave, and why the history of civilization is inseparable from the history of mass violence. Beautifully written, with a poet's eye for detail coupled with a chilling and compelling narrative drive, Schopenhauer's Telescope is current in the best sense--no thin allegory of Bosnia or Kosovo but a remarkable attempt to make art out of the brutality of life.

About the Author:

Gerard Donovan was born in Ireland and has lived in Germany and New York. His award-winning poetry has been widely published. A graduate of the Johns Hopkins Writing Seminars and the University of Arkansas Writing Program, he teaches English at Southampton College of Long Island University, and lives in Calverton, New York. This is his first novel.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described
on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your
purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if
the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've
changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please
use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and
we'll respond within 2 business days.


Shipping Terms:

Orders ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express