Stock Image

Sex and Sunsets

Sandlin, Tim

ISBN 10: 0805010866 / ISBN 13: 9780805010862
Published by Henry Holt, NY, 1987
Used Condition: Very Good Hardcover
From Monroe Street Books (Middlebury, VT, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since December 5, 1997

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 25.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 5.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

277 pages, hardcover with dust jacket. Author's first novel. Unmarked, bright and clean. A tight copy. Record # 3521. Bookseller Inventory # 3521

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Sex and Sunsets

Publisher: Henry Holt, NY

Publication Date: 1987

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Very Good

Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

"Skipped Parts is somewhere between The Catcher in the Rye and Even Cowgirls Get the Blues."-Los Angeles Times Book Review

The novel that inspired the movie starring Mischa Barton and Drew Barrymore

Banished to the hinterlands of Wyoming, rebellious Lydia Callahan and her thirteen-year-old son Sam have no choice but to cope. But while Lydia drinks and talks to the moose head on the wall, Sam finds a friend in local girl Maurey Pierce.

Sam and Maurey set out to discover for themselves what happens in the "skipped parts" of the novels they read – between the first kiss and the next morning. With Lydia's support the two teens set out on their sexual exploration, and deal with its consequences.

One of the wildest, raunchiest, most heartfelt coming-of-age novels of the past thirty years, Skipped Parts puts Tim Sandlin in the upper echelon of contemporary comic novelists.

This contemporary novel is raunchy, funny, and full of heart, perfect for fans of Nick Hornby, Jack Kerouac, Tom Robbins, Larry McMurtry, Joseph Heller, John Irving, Kurt Vonnegut, Carl Hiaasen.

Other books in Tim Sandlin's GroVant Trilogy:
Skipped Parts, Book 1
Sorrow Floats, Book 2
Social Blunders, Book 3
Lydia, Book 4

What readers are saying about Skipped Parts:

"deals with coming of age in a humorous and often poignant way"

"Plot twists that would make J.K. Rowling jealous, humor, beautifully drawn characters, a great sense for the detail of the West"

"sometimes heartwarming, often heartbreaking"

"poignant, FUNNY, SHOCKING, and even heartbreaking"

"the deep humor comes from the extraordinary characters"

"funny, sad, and full of heart"

What reviewers are saying about Skipped Parts:

"DAZZLING...moving...Sam's carapace is humor...He thinks like Holden Caulfield and has Joseph Heller's take on despair. His Walter Mitty–like fantasies are tiny comic gems... In the end you'll find yourself rooting for Sam." -New York Times Book Review

"A lighthearted, amusing, and tender story of preteen wisdom, adult immaturity, and the fine line between...An offbeat, engaging novel." -Publisher's Weekly

"This witty, often touching portrayal of a dirt-street-wise youth's coming-of-age sparkles with intelligence." -Booklist

"Thoughtful, surprising, and delightful entertainment." -St. Louis Post-Dispatch

What everyone is saying about Tim Sandlin:

"Tim Sandlin's stuff is as tight and funny as anyone doing this comedy novel thing." -Christopher Moore

"His prose, his characters, all amazing."

"A story of grand faux pas and dazzling dysfunction...a wildly satirical look at the absurdities of modern life." -The New York Times Book Review

About the Author:

Tim Sandlin has published eight novels. Two of his screenplays have been made into movies. He turned forty with no phone, TV, or flush toilet and spent more time talking to the characters in his head than the people around him. He now has seven phone lines, four TVs he doesn't watch, three flush toilets, and a two-headed shower. He lives happily (indoors) with his family in Jackson, Wyoming.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

We have an open shop. Hours are: 9AM to 6PM Monday-Saturday and 11AM to 6 PM Sundays. The shop is located at 1485 Route 7 North, 2 miles north of downtown Middlebury, VT. We are located at Paquette self-storage across from Euclide Quenell Farm (It's Vermont!) and have over 150,000 books. Some have said we're the best used book store in the State and Book Lover's Guide has listed us as a "must see." So if you're out our way, please stop in.(When weather VERY bad, please call ahead. We do close during snow storms, etc.)

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Monroe Street Books. Owners: Richard and Flanzy Chodkowski. Mailing address: Monroe Street Books, 70 Monroe Street, Middlebury, Vermont 05753 USA. Store Located at: 1485 Route 7 North, Middlebury, Vermont 05753 USA. Phone: 1-802-398-2200 Email: books@monroestreetbooks.com
Books are offered subject to availability. Vermont residents please add 7% sales tax. We accept check, money orders, Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover Card. Phone or Email reservations are encouraged. If you reach...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Books are shipped via United States Postal Service. Shipping is $5 1st bk, $2 each additional. Priority is $8/ 1st bk. International shipping is extra and varies by size, weight and destination country. Oversize +/or overweight will cost more. May be returned within seven days of receipt. (Please call or email ahead.) Payment should accompany all orders. Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Cash PayPal