Stock Image

Shadowing the Sun

Dunn, Lily

16 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1846271177 / ISBN 13: 9781846271175
Published by Portobello Books Ltd
Used Condition: Very Good Soft cover
From Kennys Bookstore (Olney, MD, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since October 9, 2009

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 7.43 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

2008. Main. Paperback. Good clean copy with some minor shelf wear. . . . . Books ship from the US and Ireland. Bookseller Inventory # KKW0011487

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Shadowing the Sun

Publisher: Portobello Books Ltd

Binding: Soft cover

Book Condition:Very Good

About this title

Synopsis:

This is an assured and atmospheric first novel for fans of "Hideous Kinky", about a daughter's relationship with her negligent and self-obsessed father, and how the events of one intense Italian summer changed their lives for ever.It is suitable for readers of Kate Atkinson, Esther Freud, Tessa Hadley, Susan Fletcher.29-year-old Sylvie is about to meet her father again after 13 years apart, to ask him to give her away at her wedding. Although she has a promising career as a photographer and a steady, secure relationship with her fiance Jack, Sylvie feels restless and unsettled and, as she prepares for the reunion with her father, her thoughts turn increasingly to their final, fateful summer together when she was 12, and visiting his commune just outside Florence. The events of that holiday cast their long shadow over her teenage years, and now also threaten her happiness as an adult. In deft and compelling prose, Lily Dunn tells the parallel stories of Sylvie's present and past - the anxious week in London waiting for her father, and the summer in Italy that started so promisingly, but ended with such betrayal and loss of innocence.

About the Author:

LILY DUNN is a graduate of the Creative Writing MA course at Sheffield Hallam University. She has worked as a freelance journalist for Time Out and lives in London.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

We carry a comprehensive range of out of print and rare books.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. For any queries please use the contact seller link or send an email to books@kennys.ie,

Conor Kenny


Shipping Terms:

All books securely packaged. Some books ship from Ireland.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express