Stock Image

Sheltering Rain

Moyes, Jojo

5,788 ratings by GoodReads
ISBN 10: 0060012889 / ISBN 13: 9780060012885
Published by William Morrow, 2002
Used Condition: As New Hard Cover
From Carol's Cache (Atlanta, GA, U.S.A.) Quantity Available: 1

Available from more sellers

View all  copies of this book


Forty years after her marriage, Joy's granddaughter came to Ireland to seek shelter. Jacket in mylar cover. 358 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 004390

About this title:

Synopsis:

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Me Before You, the basis for the major motion picture, comes the touching, unforgettable story of three generations of Irish women faced with the fundamental truths of love, duty, and the unbreakable bond that unites mothers and daughters.

Estranged from her mother since she ran away from her rural Irish home as a young woman, Kate swore a future oath that she?d always be a friend to her daughter, Sabine. But history has a way of repeating itself, and Kate now faces an ever-widening chasm between herself and her daughter. With Sabine about to make her own journey to Ireland to see the grandmother Kate abandoned, Kate is left wondering how they ever made it here, and what she can do to close the gap between them. 

For Joy, seeing her granddaughter is a dream come true. After the painful separation from Kate, she?s looking forward to having time with Sabine. Yet almost as soon as the young woman arrives, the lack of common ground between them deflates her enthusiasm. And when Sabine?s impetuous, inquisitive nature forces Joy to face long-buried secrets from her past, she realizes that perhaps it?s time to finally heal old wounds.

?This perceptive?novel does the mother-and-daughter thing in page-turning style.?--Elle

 

Product Description:

In the tradition of Maeve Binchy and Rosamunde Pilcher comes an evocative novel by a talented new writer.

At a celebration in honor of Queen Elizabeth II's coronation in 1953, the rebellious young Joy falls in love at first sight and marries the man of her dreams. Now, forty years later, Joy's fifteen-year-old granddaughter, Sabine, seeks shelter at her grandparents' house in Ireland, the very place from which her mother, Kate, ran years before. Suddenly, with an impetuous and inquisitive young woman in the house, Joy finds herself facing the secrets buried in her past.

Troubled by her worsening relationship with Sabine, Kate returns to Ireland. When the three women come together, they discover some fundamental truths about love, duty, and the relationships between mothers and daughters.

Jojo Moyes effortlessly weaves a rich and vivid tapestry of character, time, and place. The result is a heartwarming and believably real novel that sets the benchmark for a new generation of storytelling.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Sheltering Rain

Publisher: William Morrow

Publication Date: 2002

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition: As New

Dust Jacket Condition: As New

Edition: First Edition

Payment Methods

Payment Methods Accepted by Seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Money Order PayPal

Seller Carol's Cache
Address: Atlanta, GA, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Seller Since May 9, 2006
Seller Rating 3-star rating


Terms of Sale:

Returns are accepted according to the Abebooks Returns Policy. We respond to all inquiries within 2 to 3 business days. Thanks for your business!



Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.
U.S. orders - Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, money orders and personal checks accepted. Shipping charges are $3.99 for first book, $2.00 for each book thereafter. Heavy and oversized books may incur a higher shipping rate. Books shipped by USPS Media Mail unless otherwise requested. Priority shipping is $6.50 for first book, $3.00 for each additional book. Insurance is extra and upon request. International Orders - Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Discover, International Money Orders in U.S. Dollars and Personal Checks drawn on a U.S. bank-must be in U.S. dollars. International Shipping rates: $17.50 for first book, $10.00 for each additional book (5-8 days). Heavy or oversized books may incur additional shipping charges.

* Shipping times cannot be guaranteed. They are only estimates based on the carriers' delivery times, and do not include Customs processing. If your order will pass through Customs, please expect a delay.

Buy Used
Price: US$ 30.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy