The Siege

Arturo Perez-Reverte

Published by Vintage, 2014
ISBN 10: 0753829282 / ISBN 13: 9780753829288
Used / Paperback / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! L. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.5 avg rating
(1,615 ratings)

Synopsis: WINNER OF THE CRIME WRITERS’ ASSOCIATION’S INTERNATIONAL DAGGER

For fans of Alan Furst and Carlos Ruiz Zafón comes a haunting and layered thriller filled with history, adventure, suspense, and an unforgettable love story—by the internationally bestselling author Arturo Pérez-Reverte.

 
Cádiz, 1811: The Spanish port city has been surrounded by Napoleon’s army for a year. Their backs to the sea, its residents endure routine bombardments and live in constant fear of a French invasion. And now the bodies of random women have begun to turn up throughout the city—victims of a shadowy killer.
 
Police Comisario Rogelio Tizón has been assigned the case. Known for his razor-sharp investigation skills—as well as his brutal interrogation methods—Tizón has seen everything. Or so he thought. His inquiry into the murders reveals a surprising pattern: Each victim has been found where a French bomb exploded. Logic tells him to pass it off as coincidence; his instinct tells him otherwise, and he begins to view Cádiz as a living chessboard, with himself and the killer the main players.
 
In a city pushed to the brink, violence and desperation weave together the lives of a group of unlikely people: the Spanish taxidermist who doubles as a French spy; the young woman who uses her father’s mercantile business to run the enemy blockade; the rough-edged corsair who tries to resist her charms; and the brilliant academic furiously trying to perfect the French army’s artillery and bring Cádiz to its knees once and for all. And as Napoleon presses closer, Tizón must make his next move on the bomb-scarred chessboard before the killer claims another pawn.
 
Combining fast-paced narrative with scrupulous historical accuracy, this smart, suspenseful tale of human resilience is Arturo Pérez-Reverte at the height of his talents.
 
Praise for The Siege
 
“A genre-bending literary thriller . . . Pirates; serial killings; steamy, unrequited love: Pérez-Reverte imbues the sensational with significance. . . . His descriptions of the town and people of Cádiz capture colors, smells and personalities, making the page come to life, and he balances these sensory passages with dense observations about history, metaphysics, science, and human nature.”Kirkus Reviews

“Bold . . . [Pérez-Reverte’s] best yet . . . an ambitious intellectual thriller peopled with colorful rogues and antiheroes, meticulous in its historical detail, with a plot that rattles along to its unexpected finale. It’s hard to think of a contemporary author who so effortlessly marries popular and literary fiction as enjoyably as this.”The Observer
 
“Pérez-Reverte has long been Spain’s most popular, inventive writer of historical fiction. . . . This is a big and bold novel, rich in character and incident.”The Sunday Times
 
Acclaim for Arturo Pérez-Reverte
 
“John le Carré meets Gabriel García Márquez . . . Pérez-Reverte has a huge following . . . and it’s spreading.”The Wall Street Journal
 
The Da Vinci Code and The Rule of Four . . . pale in comparison with Pérez-Reverte’s novels.”Time Out New York
 
“It’s a rare novelist who can create a literary page-turner. Arturo Pérez-Reverte . . . is one of those rarities.”The Denver Post

About the Author: Arturo Pérez-Reverte is the author of many critically acclaimed novels, including The Club Dumas, The Flanders Panel, and the Captain Alatriste series. A retired war journalist, he lives in Madrid and is a member of the Royal Spanish Academy.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Siege
Publisher: Vintage
Publication Date: 2014
Binding: Paperback
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Published by W&N (2014)
ISBN 10: 0753829282 ISBN 13: 9780753829288
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
JULIES BOOKSHOP
(Consett, CO D, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W&N, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. An EX LIBRARY copy in VERY GOOD overall condition. May have some library stamps, marks etc. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000131879

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.07
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Published by W&N (2014)
ISBN 10: 0753829282 ISBN 13: 9780753829288
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ceredigion Book Shop
(Nr Lampeter, CERED, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W&N, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Very Good condition with no significant faults. Clearly used but very few minor defects. Will look good on your book case after reading but may not be suitable as a present unless hard to find elsewhere SECURE DAILY POSTING FROM UK. 30 DAY GUARANTEE. Bookseller Inventory # mon0002535666

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 1.67
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.06
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Published by W&N 2014-07-03 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0753829282 ISBN 13: 9780753829288
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bookdonors CIC
(GALASHIELS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W&N 2014-07-03, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. All books are pre-owned and will have been read by someone else before you. They may well show signs of minor wear and tear. Please note, cover images are illustrative only, and the actual book cover and edition can vary. Bookseller Inventory # 9780753829288-21

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.54
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Arturo Perez-Reverte
ISBN 10: 0753829282 ISBN 13: 9780753829288
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Used; Good. Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ), Broché, 2014 Expédition par librairie parisienne sous enveloppe bulle dans les 24h suivant votre commande. Bookseller Inventory # C515-1450-APR

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 8.36
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 9.56
From France to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Published by W&N (2014)
ISBN 10: 0753829282 ISBN 13: 9780753829288
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
cbs distribution ltd
(Brecon, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description W&N, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Fine. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000043065

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 12.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.79
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Perez-Reverte, Arturo
ISBN 10: 0753829282 ISBN 13: 9780753829288
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GreatBookPrices
(Columbia, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: good. Used products do not contain supplements and some products may include highlighting and writing. Bookseller Inventory # 20874605-5

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 14.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.64
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Perez-Reverte, Arturo
Published by Vintage 2014-01-01 (2014)
ISBN 10: 0753829282 ISBN 13: 9780753829288
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage 2014-01-01, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. 0753829282 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # POTM-0753829282

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 20.32
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Perez-Reverte, Arturo
Published by Orion Publishing Co (2014)
ISBN 10: 0753829282 ISBN 13: 9780753829288
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revaluation Books
(Exeter, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Orion Publishing Co, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Brand New. 672 pages. 7.80x5.12x1.50 inches. In Stock. Bookseller Inventory # __0753829282

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 26.07
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 8.15
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Arturo Perez-Reverte
Published by Vintage (2014)
ISBN 10: 0753829282 ISBN 13: 9780753829288
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Vintage, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 0753829282

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 104.08
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds