The Siege of Paris

Baldick, Robert

Published by The Macmillan Company, New York, 1964
Condition: Near Fine Hardcover
From West Side Book Shop, ABAA (Ann Arbor, MI, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since March 2, 2006

Quantity Available: 1

About this Item

Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine. 248 pp, preface, map of Paris in 1870, list of b&w illustrations, acknowledgments, prologue, Early Alamrs: The First Week, Monday, 19 September - Sunday, 25 September; Brag and Bombast: The Second Week, Monday, 26 September - Sunday, 2 October; Demonstrations: The Third Week, Monday, 3, October - Sunday, 9 October; The Amazons: The Fourth Week, Monday, 10 October - Sunday, 16 October; Guns, More Guns, Still More Guns: The Fifth Week, Monday, 17 October - Sunday, 30, October; Insurrrection: The Seventh Week, Monday, 31 October - Sunday, 6 November; Paris in November: The Eighth Week, Nonday, 7 November - Suday, 13 November; Pigeons and Balloons: The Ninth Week, Monday, 14 November - Sunday, 20 November; The Lull Before the Storm: The Tenth Week, Monday, 21 November - Sunday, 27 November; The Great Sortie: The Eleventh Week, Monday, 28 November - Sunday, 4 December; Aftermath of Defeat: The Twelfth Week, Monday, 5 December - Sunday, 11 December; Waiting for News: The thirteenth Week: Monday, 12 December - Sunday 18 December; Le Bourget: The Fourteenth Week: Monday, 19 December - Sunday, 21 December; The End of the Year: The Fifteenth Week, Monday, 26 December - Sunday, 1 January; Paris Under Fire: The Sixteenth Week, Monday, 2 January - Sunday, 8 January; Hope Dwindles: The Seventeenth Week, Monday, 9 January - Sunday, 15 January; Buzenval: the Eighteenth Week, Monday, 16 January - Sunday, 22 January; Capitualarion: The Nineteenth Week, Monday, 23 January - Saturday, 28, January; epilogue, bibliography, index. First American Edition, 1964. "The Siege of Paris during the Franco-Prussian War in the autumn and winter of 1870-1 was the last full-scale siege of a European capital, the first occasion of the indiscriminate bombardment of a civilian population, the source of immense hardship and suffering, and the origin of a division in the French nation. The author's subject is less the military operations of the Siege, and more the life of the French capital during some of the darkest and most momentous days of its turbulent history. He presents the Siege in the main through the eyes and in the words of a number of diarists and journalists, among them Edmond de Goncourt, Victor Hugo and Henry Labouchere, who provided much admirable reporting. The many illustrations are all from contemporary engravings and photographs." from the jacket flap. Price clipped. Slightly rubbed botton front fore-edge corner dj. Owner's stamp along fore-edge text block, ffep and half-title, else, Pristine, no wear. Clean, tight and strong binding with no underlining, highlighting or marginalia. Tan cloth with red title plate and red & gilt lettering to spine. Size: 8vo. Bookseller Inventory # 004122

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Siege of Paris

Publisher: The Macmillan Company, New York

Publication Date: 1964

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition:Near Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine

Edition: First American Edition

Store Description

~Specializing in used and rare books since 1975~

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We accept Visa and MasterCard. We also accept checks and money orders. Orders shipped immediately with credit card payment or held ten days pending arrival of check.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Bank Draft