Stock Image

Silent Joe: A Novel

Parker, T. Jefferson

Published by Hyperion, 2001
ISBN 10: 0786867280 / ISBN 13: 9780786867288
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 1
From Southron Books, LLC (Lexington, SC, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 30.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.75
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Returns Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: Silent Joe: A Novel

Publisher: Hyperion

Publication Date: 2001

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: As New

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: First Edition.

Description:

Signed by Author 0786867280 This hardcover book is Fine, being square and tight. The boards and spine have no wear with pristine lettering. The pages and endpages are clean, with no markings or folds. The dustjacket is As New. Original Price is intact. Not ex-lib. No remainder mark. This copy is signed by the Author on the title page without inscription. Bookseller Inventory # 007154

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.83 avg rating
(1,331 ratings)

Synopsis: The #1 Los Angeles Times bestselling author of Red Light and The Blue Hour returns with a moody, sexy, suspenseful novel about a scarred man, the father he idolized, and the secret he uncovers.

With the horrible remnants of a childhood tragedy forever visible across his otherwise handsome face, Joe Trona is scarred in more ways than one. Rescued from an orphanage by Will Trona, a charismatic Orange County politician who sensed his dark potential, Joe is swept into the maelstrom of power and intimidation that surrounds his adoptive father's illustrious career. Serving as Will's right-hand man, Joe is trained to protect and defend his father's territory -- but he can't save the powerful man from his enemies. Will Trona is murdered, and Joe will stop at nothing to find out who did it.

Looking for clues as he sifts through the remains of his father's life -- his girlfriends, acquaintances, deals, and enemies -- Joe comes to realize how many secrets Will Trona possessed, and how many people he had the power to harm. But two leads keep rising to the surface: a little girl who was kidnapped by her mentally disturbed brother, and two rival gangs who seem to have joined forces. As Joe deepens his investigation -- and as he is forced to confront the painful events of his troubled childhood -- these two seemingly disconnected threads will intersect. Just how and why form the crux of this intricate, intelligent mystery that satisfies the mind as well as the heart -- and reveals yet again the impeccable detail, vivid characterization, and emotional complexity that make a T. Jefferson Parker novel impossible to resist.

Review: Scarred for life by a brutal father, Joe Trona found a safe haven and a loving childhood in the home of the couple who adopted him. Now he spends his days as a deputy for the Orange County sheriff's department and his nights as a driver and aide to Will Trona, the influential politician who rescued him from the Hillside Children's Home. An expert in firearms and the martial arts, Joe has been backing Will up for a long time. Still, his skill isn't enough to keep Will alive, and when his father is killed right in front of Joe's eyes, the young deputy vows to avenge him. But first he must find out how the kidnapping of a tycoon's daughter, a scam to line the pockets of Will Trona's political enemies, the murder of two Guatemalan immigrants, the unholy activities of a charismatic minister who's a close friend of the Trona family, and the strange alliance of two rival L.A. gangs are connected to Will's death.

Every secret Joe uncovers leads deeper into his beloved father's murky past and ultimately his own. But the reader stays right with this extraordinary man as he battles his demons and ultimately vanquishes them. Author T. Jefferson Parker (The Blue Hour, Red Light, Laguna Heat) is one of the best thriller writers working today. Fans of Michael Connelly and Dennis Lehane--and Raymond Chandler, for that matter--will appreciate Parker's ability to create a complex, fascinating, and fully realized hero whose inner reality is brilliantly revealed by his actions. Will Trona is an equally intriguing invention; while ultimately he is an enigma, we remain convinced that he is worthy of his son's devotion. Silent Joe is a mindful, intelligent novel you can't put down. It should break Parker out with the really big boys of mystery fiction, the million-sellers with the marquee names. In fact, he's a much better writer than most of them, and unlike many, he never tells the same story twice. --Jane Adams

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • Bank Draft
  • Bank/Wire Transfer
  • Cash
  • Check
  • MasterCard
  • Money Order
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Bookseller a Question]

Bookseller: Southron Books, LLC
Address: Lexington, SC, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: December 7, 2011
Bookseller Rating: 5-star rating

Terms of Sale:

A. David Ruple. Southron Books, LLC. 602 East Main Street Suite D Lexington SC 29072. adruple@sc.rr.com. (803) 520-8098.



Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.


Store Description: We focus primarily on First Editions, Modern Fiction, Southern Fiction, South Caroliniana, and South Carolina authors.