Slayer Slang: A Buffy The Vampire Slayer Lexicon

Michael Adams

Published by Oxford University Press, USA, 2003
ISBN 10: 0195160339 / ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Oxford University Press, USA, 2003. Hard cover, 308 pp. First Edition, with full number line. Very good in very good dust jacket. Grey paper over boards with blue cloth and silver lettering on spine. Light bumping and fading to edges. Light overall rubbing. Binding tight. Pages crisp clean and bright with no markings. Dust jacket has a few tiny nicks and light creasing along edges. Light overall rubbing. Now in an archival quality Brodart cover. NOT Ex-library. NO remainder marks. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.94 avg rating
(478 ratings)

Synopsis: In its seven years on television, Buffy the Vampire Slayer has earned critical acclaim and a massive cult following among teen viewers. One of the most distinguishing features of the program is the innovative way the show's writers play with language: fabricating new words, morphing existing ones, and throwing usage on its head. The result has been a strikingly resonant lexicon that reflects the power of both youth culture and television in the evolution of American slang. Using the show to illustrate how new slang is formed, transformed, and transmitted, Slayer Slang is one of those rare books that combines a serious explanation of a pop culture phenomena with an engrossing read for fans of the show, word geeks, and language professionals. Michael Adams begins his book with a synopsis of the program's history and a defense of ephemeral language. He then moves to the main body of the work: a detailed glossary of slayer slang, annotated with actual dialogue and recorded the style accepted by the American Dialect Society. The book concludes with a bibliography and a lengthy index, a guide to sources (novels based on the show, magazine articles about the show, and language culled from the official posting board) and an appendix of slang-making suffixes. Introduced by Jane Espenson, one of the show's most inventive writers (and herself a linguist), Slayer Slang offers a quintessential example of contemporary youth culture serving as a vehicle for slang.
In the tradition of The Physics of Star Trek, Slayer Slang is one of those rare books that offers a serious examination a TV cult phenomenon appealing to fans and thinkers alike.
A few examples from the Slayer Slang glossary:
bitca n [AHD4 bitch n in sense 2.a + a] Bitch 1997 Sep 15 Whedon When She Was Bad "[Willow:] 'I mean, why else would she be acting like such a b-i-t-c-h?' [Giles:] 'Willow, I think we're all a little old to be spelling things out.' [Xander:] 'A bitca?'"
break and enterish adj [AHD4 sv breaking and entering n + -ish suff in sense 2.a] Suitable for crime 1999 Mar 16 Petrie Enemies "I'll go home and stock up on weapons, slip into something a little more break and enterish." [B]
carbon-dated adj [fr. AHD4 carbondating + -ed] Very out of date 1997 Mar 10 Whedon Welcome to the Hellmouth "[Buffy:] 'Deal with that outfit for a moment.' [Giles:] 'It's dated?' [Buffy:] 'It's carbon-dated.'"
cuddle-monkey n [AHD4 cuddle v + monkey n in sense 2, by analogy fr. RHHDAS (also DAS3 and NTC) sv cuddle bunny 'an affectionate, passionate, or sexually attractive young woman'] Male lover 1998 Feb 10 Noxon Bewitched, Bothered, and Bewildered "Every woman in Sunnydale wants to make me her cuddle-monkey." [X]

About the Author:
Michael Adams is Professor of English, Albright College, Reading, Pennsylvania and the editor of Dictionaries: The Journal of the Dictionary Society of North America.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Slayer Slang: A Buffy The Vampire Slayer ...
Publisher: Oxford University Press, USA
Publication Date: 2003
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Used: Very Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Michael Adams
Published by Oxford University Press, USA (2003)
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, USA, 2003. Condition: Very Good. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP88638559

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Adams, Michael
Published by OUP USA (2003)
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Revival Books Ltd
(Rossendale, LANCS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description OUP USA, 2003. Hardcover. Condition: Good. Good condition is defined as: a copy that has been read but remains in clean condition. All of the pages are intact and the cover is intact and the spine may show signs of wear. The book may have minor markings which are not specifically mentioned. Most items will be dispatched the same or the next working day. Seller Inventory # mon0007736790

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.03
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.13
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Michael Adams
Published by Oxford University Press, USA (2003)
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Used Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, USA, 2003. Condition: Very Good. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Seller Inventory # GRP88638559

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Michael Adams
Published by Oxford University Press, USA (2003)
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, USA, 2003. Condition: Good. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP93347798

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Michael Adams
Published by Oxford University Press, USA (2003)
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, USA, 2003. Condition: Good. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP21309046

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Michael Adams
Published by Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2801952708

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Michael Adams
Published by Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2845243046

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Michael Adams
Published by Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press. Hardcover. Condition: GOOD. Spine creases, wear to binding and pages from reading. May contain limited notes, underlining or highlighting that does affect the text. Possible ex library copy, that’ll have the markings and stickers associated from the library. Accessories such as CD, codes, toys, may not be included. Seller Inventory # 2847894274

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Adams, Michael
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardback. Condition: Good. The book has been read but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact and the cover is intact. Some minor wear to the spine. Seller Inventory # GOR004618984

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.13
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Adams, Michael
ISBN 10: 0195160339 ISBN 13: 9780195160338
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
WorldofBooks
(Goring-By-Sea, WS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardback. Condition: Very Good. The book has been read, but is in excellent condition. Pages are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine remains undamaged. Seller Inventory # GOR002506179

More Information About This Seller | Contact this Seller

Buy Used
US$ 1.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.13
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 43 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book