The Solace of Fierce Landscapes: Exploring Desert and Mountain Spirituality

Belden C. Lane

Published by Oxford University Press, 1998
ISBN 10: 0195116828 / ISBN 13: 9780195116823
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! L. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.25 avg rating
(190 ratings)

Synopsis: In the tradition of Kathleen Norris, Terry Tempest Williams, and Thomas Merton, The Solace of Fierce Landscapes explores the impulse that has drawn seekers into the wilderness for centuries and offers eloquent testimony to the healing power of mountain silence and desert indifference.
Interweaving a memoir of his mother's long struggle with Alzheimer's and cancer, meditations on his own wilderness experience, and illuminating commentary on the Christian via negativa--a mystical tradition that seeks God in the silence beyond language--Lane rejects the easy affirmations of pop spirituality for the harsher but more profound truths that wilderness can teach us. "There is an unaccountable solace that fierce landscapes offer to the soul. They heal, as well as mirror, the brokeness we find within." It is this apparent paradox that lies at the heart of this remarkable book: that inhuman landscapes should be the source of spiritual comfort. Lane shows that the very indifference of the wilderness can release us from the demands of the endlessly anxious ego, teach us to ignore the inessential in our own lives, and enable us to transcend the "false self" that is ever-obsessed with managing impressions. Drawing upon the wisdom of St. John of the Cross, Meister Eckhardt, Simone Weil, Edward Abbey, and many other Christian and non-Christian writers, Lane also demonstrates how those of us cut off from the wilderness might "make some desert" in our lives.
Written with vivid intelligence, narrative ease, and a gracefulness that is itself a comfort, The Solace of Fierce Landscapes gives us not only a description but a "performance" of an ancient and increasingly relevant spiritual tradition.

Review: The great religions of the world were nourished in mountains, nearly all of them born in the deserts but raised in the cool highland air. Belden Lane, a professor of theological studies, explores the role of these "fierce landscapes" in the development of the human spirit, and he travels firsthand to many of them, notably Mount Sinai and the deserts of the American Southwest, where seekers holy and profane have traveled before. "Desert and mountain places," he writes, "located on the margins of society, are locations of choice in luring God's people to a deeper understanding of who they are." Just so, and this modest book yields a deeper understanding of wild lands. --Greg McNamee

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Solace of Fierce Landscapes: Exploring ...
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publication Date: 1998
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

ISBN 10: 0195116828 ISBN 13: 9780195116823
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Big Hearted Books
(Sharon, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. This item is in good condition. All pages and covers are readable. There are no stains or tears. Dust jacket is present if applicable. May contain small amounts of writing and/or highlighting. Spine and cover may show signs of wear. May not contain supplementary items such as CD's or DVD's. We ship within 1 business day. Bookseller Inventory # 34FG1K000DDM_ns

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.26
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Lane, Belden C.
Published by Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0195116828 ISBN 13: 9780195116823
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Mini City Media
(Raleigh, NC, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press. Book Condition: Good. Moderate wear. Light interior markings. Bookseller Inventory # BOOK-0368-01030

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.34
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Belden C. Lane
Published by Oxford University Press (1998)
ISBN 10: 0195116828 ISBN 13: 9780195116823
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
GlassFrogBooks
(Minden, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, 1998. Book Condition: Good. A+ Customer service! Satisfaction Guaranteed! Book is in Used-Good condition. Pages and cover are clean and intact. Used items may not include supplementary materials such as CDs or access codes. May show signs of minor shelf wear and contain limited notes and highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 0195116828-2-4

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.96
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Lane, Belden C.
Published by Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0195116828 ISBN 13: 9780195116823
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
The Maryland Book Bank
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press. Book Condition: Very Good. All sales benefits The Maryland Book Bank. Bookseller Inventory # 3-K-3-0330

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Lane, Belden C.
Published by Oxford University Press 1998-04-30 (1998)
ISBN 10: 0195116828 ISBN 13: 9780195116823
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
arcfoundationthriftstore
(Ventura, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press 1998-04-30, 1998. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Reprint. 0195116828 **NO DUST JACKET** Your purchase benefits those with developmental disabilities to live a better quality of life. Bookseller Inventory # 4475-111816-ML-013

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.75
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Belden C. Lane
Published by Oxford University Press (1998)
ISBN 10: 0195116828 ISBN 13: 9780195116823
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bingo Used Books
(Vancouver, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, 1998. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine. Hardback in very good condition with a fine dust jacket. Bookseller Inventory # 169902

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 14.50
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Lane, Belden C.
Published by Oxford (1998)
ISBN 10: 0195116828 ISBN 13: 9780195116823
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Lifeways Books and Gifts
(Prescott, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford, 1998. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fine. By Belden C. Lane. "Interweaving a memoir of his mother's long struggle with Alzheimer's and cancer, meditations on his own wilderness experience, and illuminating commentary on the Christian "via negativa"--a mystical tradition that seeks God in the silence beyond language--Lane rejects the easy affirmations of pop spirituality for the the harsher, more profound truths can wilderness can teach.". Bookseller Inventory # solaceoffierce

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 15.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Lane, Belden C.
Published by Oxford University Press
ISBN 10: 0195116828 ISBN 13: 9780195116823
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Paisleyhaze Books
(New Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: Very Good. 0195116828 Oxford University Press hardcover with dust jacket, 1998-5th printing, clean/tight, four pages in chapter 1 have small pen marks else Fine/Fine (like New); We will add a custom fitted new mylar cover, bubble-wrap the book and ship it in a BOX with free delivery confirmation/tracking. Bookseller Inventory # 67030X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 14.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 5.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Lane, Belden C.
ISBN 10: 0195116828 ISBN 13: 9780195116823
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Greenwoods Traders
(Southbury, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Hardcover. Book Condition: Near Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good+. Hardcover. Scratches & spine end wear to Book & DJ. Overall, a clean and tight copy to read and enjoy. Oxford University Press, USA, 1998. Near Fine Book in Very Good+ Dust Jacket. Dust Jacket protected with a new archival cover. Bubble wrapped and shipped promptly in a box. Bookseller Inventory # 057331

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 17.85
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Belden C. Lane
Published by Oxford University Press, USA (1998)
ISBN 10: 0195116828 ISBN 13: 9780195116823
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Oxford University Press, USA, 1998. Hardcover. Book Condition: Used: Good. Bookseller Inventory # SONG0195116828

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 17.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 12 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book