Stock Image

A Song of Stone: A Novel

Banks, Iain

3,733 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0684853531 / ISBN 13: 9780684853536
Published by Simon & Schuster, Riverside, New Jersey, U.S.A., 1998
New Condition: New Soft cover
From Flash Books (Audubon, NJ, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since July 26, 2010

Quantity Available: 1

Buy New
List Price: US$ 23.00
Price: US$ 51.85 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 6.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Rare uncorrected proof. 1st edition. Never read. New condition. Front cover has a scratch. COLLECTOR'S COPY. Bookseller Inventory # 000039

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: A Song of Stone: A Novel

Publisher: Simon & Schuster, Riverside, New Jersey, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 1998

Binding: Soft cover

Book Condition:New

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

Banks, Iain, Song Of Stone, A: A Novel

Review:

This brutal tale starts in a bleak, brutal European any-war. Abel and Morgan live in a forboding castle, alone and isolated, until the conflict intrudes on their numb lives in the form of a cruel mercenary lieutenant and her violent, ravaging men who take up residence. From there, the tale disintegrates into darkness and atrocity, punctuated by Abel's memories of earlier joy and pain. Iain Banks pushes the story steadily downward, dragging the morbidly fascinated reader into the depths of human despair. Gang rape, torture, and incest are seen through Abel's uncaring eyes--this book is not for the squeamish. And although Banks strives for a Passion play in the end, what's missing is even the tiniest kernel of real redemption. Fans of The Wasp Factory and Banks's other non-science fiction works will find familiar details here, but A Song of Stone stands alone as a fable of hopelessness. --Therese Littleton

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Selling books I've collected over the years. Autographed copies. First editions.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal