Stock Image

A Song of Stone: A Novel

Banks, Iain

3,751 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0684857251 / ISBN 13: 9780684857251
Published by Simon & Schuster, Riverside, New Jersey, U.S.A., 1998
Condition: Near Fine Hardcover
From Scout & Morgan Books (Cambridge, MN, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since June 25, 2002 Seller Rating 3-star rating

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 40.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95 Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Signed by author on fly leaf; no ownership markings. Note that "Not for Resale" is stamped on same fly-leaf as well as rear fly leaf. Dust jacket has faint mark and smudge on front panel, is unclipped and protected in fresh mylar. A nice copy with scarce signature. Bookseller Inventory # 13491

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: A Song of Stone: A Novel

Publisher: Simon & Schuster, Riverside, New Jersey, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 1998

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Near Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

A British best-seller set in a fictional war-torn section of Europe portrays a band of guerrillas who force themselves on the aristocratic couple living in a rural castle and subtly weaves sexual, physical, and political tension into an intricate literary web. 30,000 first printing.

Review:

This brutal tale starts in a bleak, brutal European any-war. Abel and Morgan live in a forboding castle, alone and isolated, until the conflict intrudes on their numb lives in the form of a cruel mercenary lieutenant and her violent, ravaging men who take up residence. From there, the tale disintegrates into darkness and atrocity, punctuated by Abel's memories of earlier joy and pain. Iain Banks pushes the story steadily downward, dragging the morbidly fascinated reader into the depths of human despair. Gang rape, torture, and incest are seen through Abel's uncaring eyes--this book is not for the squeamish. And although Banks strives for a Passion play in the end, what's missing is even the tiniest kernel of real redemption. Fans of The Wasp Factory and Banks's other non-science fiction works will find familiar details here, but A Song of Stone stands alone as a fable of hopelessness. --Therese Littleton

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Scout & Morgan Books is located in Cambridge, Minnesota, approximately 50 miles north of Minneapolis/St Paul. We are located next to City Center Cafe, an independent coffee cafe and City Center Market, a natural foods co-op and deli. Our local farmer's market can be found in our parking lot every Saturday morning during the growing season The bookstore is open 7 days a week: Monday-Saturday: 9:00 a.m. -6:00 p.m. & Sunday 10 a.m.-5 p.m. We are closed on major holidays. We stock over 25,000 used and out-of-print books along with new Minnesota and regional books, bestsellers, and quality childrens' books. In addition, we offer unique cards and gifts that appeal to readers and bibliophiles.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Purchases must be made with US Currency. We accept Visa/Mastercard, Discover and American Express, as well as money orders, Paypal and personal checks. We welcome your inquiries via phone or email. We will make every attempt to respond within 24 hours. Please call 763-689-2474 or e-mail us at books@scoutandmorganbooks.com
Scout & Morgan Books, LLC
Judith Kissner
114 Buchanan St. North
Cambridge, MN 55008


Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 24 hours. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. Please contact us with any questions or requests concerning shipping.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order PayPal