Stock Image

& Sons

Gilbert, David

5,274 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0812993969 / ISBN 13: 9780812993967
Published by Random House, U.S.A., 2013
New Condition: New Soft cover
From Flash Books (Audubon, NJ, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since July 26, 2010

Quantity Available: 1

Buy New
List Price: US$ 27.00
Price: US$ 53.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 6.50 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

RARE Advance Reader's Edition-Uncorrected Proof-Not For Sale. 1st Edition-Stated. 1st Printing-Full # Line. New copy. Never read. Trade paperback format. BEAUTIFUL copy of Book & Cover. COLLECTOR'S COPY. Bookseller Inventory # 002406

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: & Sons

Publisher: Random House, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2013

Binding: Soft cover

Book Condition:New

Dust Jacket Condition: New

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The Washington Post · The New Yorker · Esquire · The Austin Chronicle · Kansas City Star · The Guardian (UK) · BookPage · Flavorwire · Bookish

“[A] big, brilliant novel.”The New York Times Book Review

Who is A. N. Dyer? & Sons is a literary masterwork for readers of The Art of Fielding, The Emperor’s Children, and Wonder Boys—the panoramic, deeply affecting story of an iconic novelist, two interconnected families, and the heartbreaking truths that fiction can hide.
 
The funeral of Charles Henry Topping on Manhattan’s Upper East Side would have been a minor affair (his two-hundred-word obit in The New York Times notwithstanding) but for the presence of one particular mourner: the notoriously reclusive author A. N. Dyer, whose novel Ampersand stands as a classic of American teenage angst. But as Andrew Newbold Dyer delivers the eulogy for his oldest friend, he suffers a breakdown over the life he’s led and the people he’s hurt and the novel that will forever endure as his legacy. He must gather his three sons for the first time in many years—before it’s too late.
 
So begins a wild, transformative, heartbreaking week, as witnessed by Philip Topping, who, like his late father, finds himself caught up in the swirl of the Dyer family. First there’s son Richard, a struggling screenwriter and father, returning from self-imposed exile in California. In the middle lingers Jamie, settled in Brooklyn after his twenty-year mission of making documentaries about human suffering. And last is Andy, the half brother whose mysterious birth tore the Dyers apart seventeen years ago, now in New York on spring break, determined to lose his virginity before returning to the prestigious New England boarding school that inspired Ampersand. But only when the real purpose of this reunion comes to light do these sons realize just how much is at stake, not only for their father but for themselves and three generations of their family.
 
In this daring feat of fiction, David Gilbert establishes himself as one of our most original, entertaining, and insightful authors. & Sons is that rarest of treasures: a startlingly imaginative novel about families and how they define us, and the choices we make when faced with our own mortality.

NATIONAL BESTSELLER · A NEW YORK TIMES EDITORS’ CHOICE
  
“Big, brilliant, and terrifically funny.”—Jess Walter, author of Beautiful Ruins
 
“Extraordinary.”Time
 
“Smart and savage . . . Seductive and ripe with both comedy and heartbreak, [& Sons] made me reconsider my stance on . . . the term ‘instant classic.’”—NPR
 
“A big, ambitious book about fathers and sons, Oedipal envy and sibling rivalry, and the dynamics between art and life . . . [& Sons] does a wonderful job of conjuring up its characters’ memories . . . in layered, almost Proustian detail.”—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times
 
“[A] smart, engrossing saga . . . Perfect for fans of Jonathan Franzen or Claire Messud.”—Entertainment Weekly
 
“This great big novel is . . . infused with warmth and wisdom about what it means to be a family.”The Boston Globe
 
“Audacious . . . [one of the year’s] most dazzlingly smart, fully realized works of fiction.”The Washington Post

About the Author:

David Gilbert is the author of the story collection Remote Feed and the novel The Normals. His stories have appeared in The New Yorker, Harper’s, GQ, and Bomb. He lives in New York with his wife and three children.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Selling books I've collected over the years. Autographed copies. First editions.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal