South, America

Davis, Rod

Published by U.S.A.: NewSouth Books, 2014
ISBN 10: 1603063153 / ISBN 13: 9781603063159
Used / Soft cover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Book is new and unread. It was only opened for the author to sign during book event at Pass Books. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.58 avg rating
(12 ratings)

Synopsis: On an early Sunday morning walk through the empty streets of the Faubourg Marigny downriver of the French Quarter, maverick journalist and Big Easy transplant Jack Prine discovers the body of a well-dressed black man with a bashed-in skull. Soon Jack is drawn into an emerging web of violence threatening Elle Meridian, the victim's beautiful, complicated sister, burdened with a past she can barely confess.

They begin a dangerous, desperate flight through Alabama, the Delta and back to New Orleans searching and evading button men, goons, racists and family secrets. Deadly ties extend to the Dixie Mafia, priceless stolen art and debased Southern aristocracy. A final, violent showdown in the Arts District of New Orleans uncovers one last nightmarish revelation that may bind Elle, Jack and a mob enforcer named Big Red for years to come -- if anyone survives.

"South, America may be set in the Deep South--New Orleans and the Mississippi Delta--but writer Rod Davis takes us into that classic hardboiled territory once claimed by James Cain: a man with a wandering eye drawn to a femme fatale who promises nothing but trouble, then delivers it." -- Christopher Cook, author of Robbers and Screen Door Jesus & Other Stories

"Jack Prine is about as tough and gritty as Mike Hammer, especially when he has a lady to protect; corner him on a deserted back road at night and find out. A story that plays on black and white relationships over the generations, gay sexuality, the mean streets of New Orleans and the remote remnants of towns in the Mississippi Delta, South, America, is an honest, tough book and a riveting read. Rod Davis has given us a rugged and real character. I hope he keeps roaming the South in more episodes to come." -- Tony Dunbar, author of Crooked Man and Tubby Meets Katrina

"This down-and-dirty yarn is a powerful evocation of pre-Katrina New Orleans and as absorbing a tale of love and evil to come out of this old town since Ace Atkins and Tony Dunbar hit the scene a few years back. South, America is a triumph of Southern noir, populated with characters who'll stay with you long after the last page, including sometime PI Jack Prine, Elle, his brainy and brave new love, and an all too-real supporting cast of thugs, low-lifes, and Southern degenerates. You heard it first here: In South, America, Rod Davis is the new mayor of the mean streets!" -- Julie Smith, Edgar Award-winning author of the Skip Langdon and Talba Wallis series.

About the Author: Rod Davis is the recipient of the inaugural Fiction Award of the PEN Southwest Book Awards in 2005 for Corina’s Way, described by Kirkus Reviews as “a spicy bouillabaisse, New Orleans-set, in the tradition of Flannery O’Connor or John Kennedy Toole: a welcome romp, told with traditional Southern charm.” He also is author of American Voudou: Journey into a Hidden World, selected as one of the “Exceptional Books of 1998” by Bookman Book Review Syndicate. A six-part series on the Texas-Mexico border, “A Rio Runs Through It,” appears in Best American Travel Writing 2002. His PEN/Texas-award-winning essay, “The Fate of the Texas Writer,” is included in Fifty Years of the Texas Observer and his Texas Monthly story, “Wal-marts Across Texas,” is excerpted in True Stories by David Byrne. Davis has received numerous awards as a magazine editor and writer. He earned an M.A. in Government at Louisiana State University and studied at the University of Virginia before joining the Army in 1970, serving as a first lieutenant in South Korea. He lives in Texas.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: South, America
Publisher: U.S.A.: NewSouth Books
Publication Date: 2014
Binding: Soft cover
Book Condition: New
Edition: 1st Edition

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Davis, Rod
Published by NewSouth Books
ISBN 10: 1603063153 ISBN 13: 9781603063159
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Your Online Bookstore
(Houston, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description NewSouth Books. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1603063153 Ships promptly. Bookseller Inventory # GAT1183RBLM060415H1203

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.41
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Rod Davis
Published by NewSouth, Incorporated
ISBN 10: 1603063153 ISBN 13: 9781603063159
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Silver Arch Books
(St Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description NewSouth, Incorporated. Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Book shows a small amount of wear - very good condition. Bookseller Inventory # G1603063153I4N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 14.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Davis, Rod
Published by NewSouth Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1603063153 ISBN 13: 9781603063159
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description NewSouth Books, 2014. Book Condition: Fair. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP82974635

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 14.92
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

ISBN 10: 1603063153 ISBN 13: 9781603063159
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Goodwill Industries of Central Indiana
(Indianapolis, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Good. This is a paper back book. The pages have normal wear. We ship Monday-Saturday and respond to inquries within 24 hours. Bookseller Inventory # 3O6EL80017BZ

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 12.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Davis, Rod
Published by NEWSOUTH INC (2014)
ISBN 10: 1603063153 ISBN 13: 9781603063159
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description NEWSOUTH INC, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9781603063159

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.25
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Davis, Rod
Published by NEWSOUTH INC (2014)
ISBN 10: 1603063153 ISBN 13: 9781603063159
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description NEWSOUTH INC, 2014. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 3 to 5 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9781603063159

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.83
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.77
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Rod Davis
Published by NewSouth Books (2014)
ISBN 10: 1603063153 ISBN 13: 9781603063159
New Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Irish Booksellers
(Rumford, ME, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description NewSouth Books, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. book. Bookseller Inventory # 1603063153

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.73
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Rod Davis
Published by NewSouth Books, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 1603063153 ISBN 13: 9781603063159
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description NewSouth Books, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. On an early Sunday morning walk through the empty streets of the Faubourg Marigny downriver of the French Quarter, maverick journalist and Big Easy transplant Jack Prine discovers the body of a well-dressed black man with a bashed-in skull. Soon Jack is drawn into an emerging web of violence threatening Elle Meridian, the victim s beautiful, complicated sister, burdened with a past she can barely confess. They begin a dangerous, desperate flight through Alabama, the Delta and back to New Orleans searching for answers and evading button men, goons, racists and family secrets. Deadly ties extend to the Dixie Mafia, priceless stolen art and debased Southern aristocracy. A final, violent showdown in the Arts District of New Orleans uncovers one last nightmarish revelation that may bind Elle, Jack and a mob enforcer named Big Red for years to come--if anyone survives. Bookseller Inventory # APC9781603063159

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 20.63
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Davis, Rod
Published by NewSouth Books (2017)
ISBN 10: 1603063153 ISBN 13: 9781603063159
New Paperback Quantity Available: 11
Print on Demand
Seller
Murray Media
(North Miami Beach, FL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description NewSouth Books, 2017. Paperback. Book Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. Bookseller Inventory # 1603063153

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 18.14
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 2.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Rod Davis
Published by NewSouth Books, United States (2014)
ISBN 10: 1603063153 ISBN 13: 9781603063159
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description NewSouth Books, United States, 2014. Paperback. Book Condition: New. New.. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****.On an early Sunday morning walk through the empty streets of the Faubourg Marigny downriver of the French Quarter, maverick journalist and Big Easy transplant Jack Prine discovers the body of a well-dressed black man with a bashed-in skull. Soon Jack is drawn into an emerging web of violence threatening Elle Meridian, the victim s beautiful, complicated sister, burdened with a past she can barely confess. They begin a dangerous, desperate flight through Alabama, the Delta and back to New Orleans searching for answers and evading button men, goons, racists and family secrets. Deadly ties extend to the Dixie Mafia, priceless stolen art and debased Southern aristocracy. A final, violent showdown in the Arts District of New Orleans uncovers one last nightmarish revelation that may bind Elle, Jack and a mob enforcer named Big Red for years to come--if anyone survives. Bookseller Inventory # APC9781603063159

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 21.16
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 5 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book