Stock Image

Space: A Memoir

Kercheval, Jesse Lee

114 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1565121465 / ISBN 13: 9781565121461
Published by Algonquin, Chapel Hill, North Carolina, U.S.A., 1998
Used Condition: Near Fine Hardcover
From citynightsbooks (Allston, MA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since August 17, 2004

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 20.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

First printing. Mustard cloth spine, black boards. By the author of The Museum of Happiness and The Dog Eater. Book unread, fine. DJ near fine with light shelfwear. 325 pp. Bookseller Inventory # 1149

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Space: A Memoir

Publisher: Algonquin, Chapel Hill, North Carolina, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 1998

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Near Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine

Edition: 1st Edition.

Book Type: Book

About this title

Synopsis:

A memoir in the tradition of Frank Conroy's STOP TIME and Tobias Wolff's THIS BOY'S LIFE, SPACE is about growing up when America was on the brink of the big changes coming by way of Apollo 11, THE FEMININE MYSTIQUE, and the Vietnam War. "Never has the space program been so charmingly brought down to earth than by this utterly beguiling girl . . . I was fascinated, enchanted, edified, and moved."--Gish Jen, author of TYPICAL AMERICAN; "The beauty of SPACE is that Kercheval engages all the senses with layered detail."--Swing; "An incandescent girlhood memoir . . . so lyrical and poignant are the events it chronicles, it is hard to believe that it wasn't all by design."--Booklist, starred.

About the Author:

Jesse Lee Kercheval is the author of two books of fiction—a novel, The Museum of Happiness, and a collection of stories, The Dog Eater, winner of the prestigious AWP Award for Fiction. The recipient of fellowships from the NEA, Bread Loaf, and the Bunting Institute, she publishes her stories, articles, and poems in a broad range of literary magazines. She is a professor of English at the University of Wisconsin at Madison, where she lives with her husband and their young daughter.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

citynightsbooks allows/refunds within the Abebooks' guidelines. Please refer to their policy on this matter and contact us first via e-mail or telephone.


Shipping Terms:

All books shipped with foam board or corrugated protection and bubblewrap. All
hardcovers with dust jackets shipped with archival covers. Books shipped within 48
hours via USPS, media mail or priority (specify preference). Please refer to
shipping chart for specific costs.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal