Stock Image

The Speed of Dark

Moon, Elizabeth

8,244 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0345447557 / ISBN 13: 9780345447555
Published by Westminster, Maryland, U.S.A.: Ballantine Books, 2002
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Booklegger's Used Books ABAA (Chicago, IL, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since September 15, 1998

Quantity Available: 1

About this Item

A fine hardcover copy in a fine jacket/brodart covered, First Edition. A nice clean copy. No bumped corners, no chips, no tears to jacket. = WE SHIP ALL BOOKS WITH DELIVERY CONFIRMATION. = WE HAVE BEEN BUYING AND SELLING USED BOOKS FOR OVER 32 YEARS. Bookseller Inventory # 000111

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Speed of Dark

Publisher: Westminster, Maryland, U.S.A.: Ballantine Books

Publication Date: 2002

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

In the near future, disease will be a condition of the past. Most genetic defects will be removed at birth; the remaining during infancy. Unfortunately, there will be a generation left behind. For members of that missed generation, small advances will be made. Through various programs, they will be taught to get along in the world despite their differences. They will be made active and contributing members of society. But they will never be normal.

Lou Arrendale is a member of that lost generation, born at the wrong time to reap the awards of medical science. Part of a small group of high-functioning autistic adults, he has a steady job with a pharmaceutical company, a car, friends, and a passion for fencing. Aside from his annual visits to his counselor, he lives a low-key, independent life. He has learned to shake hands and make eye contact. He has taught himself to use “please” and “thank you” and other conventions of conversation because he knows it makes others comfortable. He does his best to be as normal as possible and not to draw attention to himself.

But then his quiet life comes under attack. It starts with an experimental treatment that will reverse the effects of autism in adults. With this treatment Lou would think and act and be just like everyone else. But if he was suddenly free of autism, would he still be himself? Would he still love the same classical music–with its complications and resolutions? Would he still see the same colors and patterns in the world–shades and hues that others cannot see? Most importantly, would he still love Marjory, a woman who may never be able to reciprocate his feelings? Would it be easier for her to return the love of a “normal”?

There are intense pressures coming from the world around him–including an angry supervisor who wants to cut costs by sacrificing the supports necessary to employ autistic workers. Perhaps even more disturbing are the barrage of questions within himself. For Lou must decide if he should submit to a surgery that might completely change the way he views the world . . . and the very essence of who he is.

Thoughtful, provocative, poignant, unforgettable, The Speed of Dark is a gripping exploration into the mind of an autistic person as he struggles with profound questions of humanity and matters of the heart.

Review:

Corporate life in early 21st-century America is even more ruthless than it was at the turn of the millennium. Lou Arrendale, well compensated for his remarkable pattern-recognition skills, enjoys his job and expects never to lose it. But he has a new boss, a man who thinks Lou and the others in his building are a liability. Lou and his coworkers are autistic. And the new boss is going to fire Lou and all his coworkers--unless they agree to undergo an experimental new procedure to "cure" them.

In The Speed of Dark, Elizabeth Moon has created a powerful, complex, and believable portrayal of a man who varies radically from what is defined as "normal." The author insightfully explores the nature of "normality," identity, choice, responsibility, free will, illness and health, and good and evil. The Speed of Dark is a powerful, moving, illuminating novel in the tradition of Flowers for Algernon, Forrest Gump, and Rain Man . --Cynthia Ward

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

OPEN 7 DAYS A WEEK. We have over 30,000 books in stock with new items arriving daily. We have been selling used books for over 35 years.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Please send all inquiries by email, books listed on the ABEBOOKS website are in our warehouse, not
in our bookshop. Bookstore personnel cannot answer your questions or check the availability of a
book.

We accept cash, checks, International Money Orders and credit cards thru ABEBOOKS. We ship USPS Media Mail with tracking. $5.00 shipping & handling per book, oversize books, art books, and other
heavy books will be slightly higher.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Cash