2 Stücke für kleines Orchester I. On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring Beim ersten Kuckucksruf im Frühling II. Summer Night on the River Sommernacht am Flusse. Studienpartitur M. 5.00 No. [Full score]

DELIUS, Frederick 1862-1934

Published by Verlag Tischer & Jagenberg G.M.B.H. [PN T. & J. 248.], Cöln am Rhein, 1914
Soft cover

AbeBooks Seller Since January 6, 2003

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 110.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 10.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Folio. Original publisher's wrappers with titling printed in red and brown within decorative borders. [1] (title), 2-14, 1f. (publisher's advertisement with brief catalog to verso) pp. Contemporary signature in black ink and small music seller's and publisher's handstamps to upper wrapper; handstamps to lower margin of title.Wrappers slightly worn and soiled. First Edition. CPM 16, p. 157. Threlfall VI/19. Delius's "best-known orchestral tone poem, On Hearing the First Cuckoo in Spring (1912), epitomizes his sweet nostalgia, while its companion-piece, Summer Night on the River (1911), with its softly clashing lines, is one of his few Impressionist pieces." These famous pieces were first performed at the Gewandhaus in Leipzig on October 23, 1913, conducted by Artur Nikisch."Though he spent the greater part of his life abroad, settling in France and enjoying his first professional successes in Germany and Norway, Delius is considered among the most significant and characteristic of English compositional voices. The seamless flow of Wagner, together with the airier chromaticism of Grieg and the rich colouring of Strauss matured into a recognizably individual idiom, in which melody of beguiling fluidity is complemented by a harmonic syntax often daring in its range and flexibility of rhythmic pacing. Though he contributed to the genres of opera, concerto and sonata, it is the nostalgic rhapsody of his orchestral tone poems, with their sensuous evocations of natural beauty, and the ecstatic though resolutely secular spirituality of his choral works that have proved especially enduring." Robert Anderson, et al. in Grove Music Online. Bookseller Inventory # 26712

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: 2 Stücke für kleines Orchester I. On Hearing...

Publisher: Verlag Tischer & Jagenberg G.M.B.H. [PN T. & J. 248.], Cöln am Rhein

Publication Date: 1914

Binding: Soft cover

Store Description

Private premises. By appointment only.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

All items are offered subject to prior sale and are unconditionally guaranteed as authentic. All prices are net. An additional 8.625% will be added to the invoices of New York State residents. All accounts will be invoiced, new customers on a pro-forma basis. Payment is due upon receipt of invoice. Overseas customers are asked to kindly remit in U.S. dollars (by check drawn on a U.S. bank), by international money order, or by international wire transfer (inclusive of all bank charges). Please co...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

The costs of shipping and insurance are additional. Domestic shipments are customarily sent via Federal Express, UPS, or Priority Mail unless otherwise requested. International shipments are customarily sent via International Priority unless otherwise requested. All shipments will be sent insured unless other requested by the purchaser, in which case shipments are sent at the purchaser's own risk.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Cash PayPal Invoice Bank Draft Bank/Wire Transfer