Her Stories : African American Folktales, Fairy Tales and True Tales

Hamilton, Virginia

Published by The Blue Sky Press, 1995
ISBN 10: 0590473700 / ISBN 13: 9780590473705
Used / Hard Cover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Light edgewear to dustjacket otherwise very clean and sound. SIGNED by award-winning author Virginia Hamilton. Signature on Davoll's store book plate adhered to half-title page. 112 pgs. Clear plastic sleeve covers and protects jacket. 4to - over 9¾" - 12" tall Size: 4to - over 9¾" - 12" tall. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.31 avg rating
(397 ratings)

Synopsis: In the tradition of Hamilton's The People Could Fly and In the Beginning, a dramatic new collection of 25 compelling tales from the female African American storytelling tradition. Each story focuses on the role of women--both real and fantastic--and their particular strengths, joys and sorrows. Full-color illustrations.

Review: Virginia Hamilton, who previously won a Newbery Medal and a MacArthur Foundation grant, gives us 17 pugnacious and heroic female characters in a collection of tales that demonstrates the breadth of African-American cultural tradition. The characters in Her Stories, which won the 1996 Coretta Scott King Award, are strong, competent, and sometimes bigger than life, like the "coal black and tree tall" Annie Christmas. Drawn from a variety of sources, the tales in Her Stories have been crafted to blend together smoothly while remaining true to their original tone. Text and art are laid against a buff background in a stylish, oversize format, with a heavy binding built to stand up to the repeated use that's sure to come.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Her Stories : African American Folktales, ...
Publisher: The Blue Sky Press
Publication Date: 1995
Binding: Hard Cover
Illustrator: Dillon, Leo; Diane, Dillon
Book Condition: Very Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Virginia Hamilton
Published by Blue Sky Press (1995)
ISBN 10: 0590473700 ISBN 13: 9780590473705
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Sky Press, 1995. Book Condition: Good. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP3109860

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Virginia Hamilton
Published by Blue Sky Press (1995)
ISBN 10: 0590473700 ISBN 13: 9780590473705
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Blue Sky Press, 1995. Book Condition: Very Good. Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP9327272

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.88
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Virginia Hamilton
Published by Scholastic, Incorporated
ISBN 10: 0590473700 ISBN 13: 9780590473705
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Yankee Clipper Books
(Windsor Locks, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scholastic, Incorporated. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory # G0590473700I5N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Virginia Hamilton
Published by Scholastic, Incorporated
ISBN 10: 0590473700 ISBN 13: 9780590473705
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 3
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Green Earth
(Portland, OR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scholastic, Incorporated. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory # G0590473700I5N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Virginia Hamilton
Published by Scholastic, Incorporated
ISBN 10: 0590473700 ISBN 13: 9780590473705
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Silver Arch
(St Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scholastic, Incorporated. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory # G0590473700I5N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Virginia Hamilton
Published by Scholastic, Incorporated
ISBN 10: 0590473700 ISBN 13: 9780590473705
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Silver Arch
(St Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scholastic, Incorporated. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book has a small amount of wear visible on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G0590473700I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Virginia Hamilton
Published by Scholastic, Incorporated
ISBN 10: 0590473700 ISBN 13: 9780590473705
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks - Motor City
(Brownstown, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scholastic, Incorporated. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Bookseller Inventory # G0590473700I5N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Virginia Hamilton
Published by Scholastic, Incorporated
ISBN 10: 0590473700 ISBN 13: 9780590473705
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Sierra Nevada Books
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scholastic, Incorporated. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Dust Cover Missing. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G0590473700I3N01

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Virginia Hamilton
Published by Scholastic, Incorporated
ISBN 10: 0590473700 ISBN 13: 9780590473705
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Blue Cloud Books
(Phoenix, AZ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scholastic, Incorporated. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Dust Cover Missing. This book has a light amount of wear to the pages, cover and binding. Bookseller Inventory # G0590473700I3N01

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Virginia Hamilton
Published by Scholastic, Incorporated
ISBN 10: 0590473700 ISBN 13: 9780590473705
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Atlanta Book Company
(Atlanta, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scholastic, Incorporated. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory # G0590473700I5N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.89
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 63 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book