Stock Image

Strand of a Thousand Pearls (Signed First Edition)

Dorit Rabinyan

141 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0375508112 / ISBN 13: 9780375508110
New Condition: New Hardcover
From Dan Pope Books (West Hartford, CT, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since October 12, 2002

Quantity Available: 1

Buy New
Price: US$ 50.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

New York: Random House [2002]. First edition. First printing. Hardbound. New in dust jacket. Very fine/very fine in all respects. A pristine unread copy. SIGNED BY AUTHOR on title page in English and Hebrew, and dated in Seattle. No inscription. (Smoke-free. No defects.) Comes with mylar dust jacket protector. [CASE6] 0.0. Bookseller Inventory # debb16

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Strand of a Thousand Pearls (Signed First ...

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:New

Dust Jacket Condition: Dust Jacket Included

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st Edition....

About this title

Synopsis:

For fans of Isabelle Allende and Laura Esquivel, here is the sensuous, spellbinding story of the Azizyan family—a story of love, marriage, and mischief by the bestselling, award-winning Dorit Rabinyan.

In the years leading up to Iran’s marriage, her mother weaves one long strand of pearls into a wedding dress, lovingly unraveled by the husband Iran finds one night down by the sea. Solly is a fisherman, shy, clumsy, and burning with love for his young bride, and with all but a thousand of these pearls, they buy a tiny flat in a house shaded by guava trees.

First comes Maurice, with a weak heart, then Sofia, Marcelle, and Lizzie, whose body is cursed with appetites, and mischievous Matti, who mourns her missing twin. At night, Iran coaxes her daughters to sleep with stories of their wedding nights, as they take turns conjuring dreams of the love that the future holds.

Redolent with the scent of lilac, white musk, and oleander trees, and bursting with the flavors of passion fruit, quinces, and overripe plums, Strand of a Thousand Pearls is the story of the imagined and actual marriages of the Azizyan girls, their years of yearning, restless and impatient, and the truth of their engagements, miles away from the enchanted realm and imaginary heroes of their dreams.

Four years ago, Dorit Rabinyan burst onto the scene with Persian Brides, a novel that established her as a writer of incandescent spirit with a gift for spinning wry, magical tales about the vagaries of love and marriage. In Strand of a Thousand Pearls, she has given us a bittersweet fable about desires fulfilled and denied—about married love and carnal love, about a mother’s love and the kind of love that vanishes one night without warning like an evaporated dream.

From the Publisher:

Other Suggested Reading

-Persian Brides by Dorit Rabinyan
-A Family Lexicon by Natalia Ginezburg.
-The History by Elza Morante
-Be My Knife and The Internal Grammar Book, by David Grossman
-The Judges by Elie Wiesel
-Everything Is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer
-Desirable Daughters by Bharati Mukherjee
-Atonement by Ian McEwan
-Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage by Alice Munro
-Halide’s Gift by Frances Kazan
-Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esqueval
-Portrait in Sepia by Isabelle Allende
-The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
-Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri
-A Heart So White by Javier Marias

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

An online bookstore. All books stored in a smoke-free, bug-free, pet-free environment. We take great pride in the condition of our books. Most are in new condition, untouched, unopened. We guarantee that you'll be pleased with your book purchase! All collectible books are shipped in well padded boxes within USA, not envelopes.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

All books shipped within 24 hours.
This is a sole proprietorship, Daniel C. Pope, 35 Avondale Road, West Hartford Conn. 06117, USA. Email: dan.pope@comcast.net. Phone: (860) 232-9930.


Shipping Terms:

Media rate shippng is $3.95. Priority rate shipping is $5.90. International priority rate in a box for a two-pound book is approxiamtely $20. Some heavy books might be more to ship overseas. Will overnight express anywhere within USA if you ask first. All books sent in well padded sturdy boxes.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express