Stock Image

Strand of a thousand pearls : a novel

Rabinyan, Dorit

142 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0375508112 / ISBN 13: 9780375508110
Published by Random House, New York, 2001
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Owl & Company Bookshop (Calvello Books) (Oakland, CA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since March 19, 1998

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 25.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Octavo with cream paper boards in DJ with color photo & green illus. 264 p. ; 22 cm. A story of family, love, and marriage follows the lives and fortunes of the members of the Azizyan family--Solly and Iran, their four daughters, and their son, Maurice. // Love -- Folklore. Fine, as-new, tight and clean. Signed by author. Bookseller Inventory # 82587

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Strand of a thousand pearls : a novel

Publisher: Random House, New York

Publication Date: 2001

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: fine

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: 1st U.S. ed.

About this title

Synopsis:

For fans of Isabelle Allende and Laura Esquivel, here is the sensuous, spellbinding story of the Azizyan family—a story of love, marriage, and mischief by the bestselling, award-winning Dorit Rabinyan.

In the years leading up to Iran’s marriage, her mother weaves one long strand of pearls into a wedding dress, lovingly unraveled by the husband Iran finds one night down by the sea. Solly is a fisherman, shy, clumsy, and burning with love for his young bride, and with all but a thousand of these pearls, they buy a tiny flat in a house shaded by guava trees.

First comes Maurice, with a weak heart, then Sofia, Marcelle, and Lizzie, whose body is cursed with appetites, and mischievous Matti, who mourns her missing twin. At night, Iran coaxes her daughters to sleep with stories of their wedding nights, as they take turns conjuring dreams of the love that the future holds.

Redolent with the scent of lilac, white musk, and oleander trees, and bursting with the flavors of passion fruit, quinces, and overripe plums, Strand of a Thousand Pearls is the story of the imagined and actual marriages of the Azizyan girls, their years of yearning, restless and impatient, and the truth of their engagements, miles away from the enchanted realm and imaginary heroes of their dreams.

Four years ago, Dorit Rabinyan burst onto the scene with Persian Brides, a novel that established her as a writer of incandescent spirit with a gift for spinning wry, magical tales about the vagaries of love and marriage. In Strand of a Thousand Pearls, she has given us a bittersweet fable about desires fulfilled and denied—about married love and carnal love, about a mother’s love and the kind of love that vanishes one night without warning like an evaporated dream.

From the Publisher:

Other Suggested Reading

-Persian Brides by Dorit Rabinyan
-A Family Lexicon by Natalia Ginezburg.
-The History by Elza Morante
-Be My Knife and The Internal Grammar Book, by David Grossman
-The Judges by Elie Wiesel
-Everything Is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer
-Desirable Daughters by Bharati Mukherjee
-Atonement by Ian McEwan
-Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage by Alice Munro
-Halide’s Gift by Frances Kazan
-Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esqueval
-Portrait in Sepia by Isabelle Allende
-The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
-Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri
-A Heart So White by Javier Marias

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Buying & selling used and rare books since 1987. Listing online with ABE since 1997. Our inventory ships from Oakland, California. For our best prices, please visit our walk-in shop, located at 3941 Piedmont Ave, Oakland, CA 94611 (open daily 11-8) or visit us online at www.owlbookes.com. ** Please note, however, that our books listed online are not housed at our walk-in shop but that we can bring them to our shop upon request. **

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Books may be placed on reserve for one week. We pack all our orders ourselves and, with nearly thirty years in the trade, strive to describe our books as accurately as possible. Cash refunds may be issued if an item is not as described and returned in same condition as originally shipped. However, just like in our walk-in shop, should you wish to return an item simply because you no longer want it, at our discretion, and assuming item arrives back to us in same condition in which it departed, we...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2-3 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or over-sized, we may contact you to let you know that extra shipping is required. See SHIPPING TERMS above. www.calvellobooks.com

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order Cash PayPal