Stock Image

The Superlative Man

Herbert Thomas

8 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0374272093 / ISBN 13: 9780374272098
Published by Farrar Straus Giroux, 1997
Condition: Very Good Hardcover
From Cameron Park Books (Raleigh, NC, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since March 31, 2005

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 30.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Signed. First Edition. First edition. First printing. Inscription with pithy quote signed by the author to prev owner. Very good hardcover with very good dust jacket in new Brodart jacket. Unmarked, bright and clean with square and tight binding. Enjoy reading with a real book in your hands. Shipping from North Carolina. Dedicated to delighting our customers. Delivery confirmation provided on all domestic orders. Happy to ship to international locations. Consider expedited shipping - just a little more moves your purchase a lot faster. Digital photos available on request for any book. Bookseller Inventory # mon0000026105

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Superlative Man

Publisher: Farrar Straus Giroux

Publication Date: 1997

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Very Good

Dust Jacket Condition: Very good

Edition: 1st Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

A thriller in the vein of Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett follows a cub reporter's underground efforts to reveal the unflattering truth about the so-called Superlative Man, the metropolis's superhero and possibly a fraud. A first novel.

Review:

Here is yet another lawyer turning literary aspirations to laurels. Although a thriller and a mystery, Herbert Thomas's The Superlative Man is unlike the works of John Grisham or Lisa Scottoline, whose tenure in the trade gives readers more than a peek at courtroom dramas and the gnarly machinations of the law. Herbert Thomas has decided to pick on Superman--well, the generic superhero, anyway. But this hero, the Superlative Man (SM), is a bit suspect--at least, according to protagonist Harvey Gander. After all, this exemplary guy killed--albeit accidentally--Harvey's parents. When asked by his newspaper, The Metropolitan Meteor, to write a story about the people rescued by SM, Harvey uncovers a plot to expose the hero as a fake. Further investigation turns up a very troubling fact: Superlative Man's rescues are all mysteriously being picked off.

Along with this hugely entertaining premise comes Thomas's tribute to the noir genre. Taking his stylistic cue from the hard-boiled private investigator prose of the '40s, he adds a '90s twist that is both spoof and celebration of the movie superheroes we've come to love all over again.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Cameron Park Books is an Internet-based used/out-of-print bookseller. We focus on history, warfare, theology, religion, and Southern writers. We are pleased to work from the want lists of our customers.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

All items are offered subject to prior sale and we work hard to keep our listings up to date. We are willing to bill libraries for orders. We accept credit card orders through ABEBOOKS and prefer that payment option. We will accept checks and money orders in advance prior to shipping. We will hold a book for those orders for 5 days.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 1.5 LB. If your book order is heavy or over-sized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required, even after out computer has accepted the order.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express