Stock Image

Swamp Angel [signed by both author and illustrator]

Isaacs, Anne

1,820 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0525452710 / ISBN 13: 9780525452713
Published by Dutton Children's Books, Penguin, New York, New York, U.S.A., 1994
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From Gold Beach Books, Inc. (Gold Beach, OR, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since June 30, 2003 Seller Rating 5-star rating

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 45.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.95 Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Approximately 34 unpaginated pages; color-illustrated boards; color-illustrated dust jacket (not price-clipped); seventh printing of the first edition; inscribed ("For . . . with a bonnetful of best wishes") and signed by the author on the dedication page; also signed by the illustrator just below the author; unobtrusive, half-inch closed tear at the foot of the front flap fold; contents clean and bright; binding tight and sound; appearing unread; a fine condition copy in a near fine jacket. Bookseller Inventory # 001164

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Swamp Angel [signed by both author and ...

Publisher: Dutton Children's Books, Penguin, New York, New York, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 1994

Binding: Hardcover

Illustrator: Paul O. Zelinsky

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Near Fine

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

About this title

Synopsis:

Working in an American primitive style animated by the humor and storytelling genius for which he is renowned, Caldecott Winner artist Paul O. Zelinsky puts oils to cherry and maple for this tall-tale competition between a Tennessee woods-woman extraordinaire and a hungry, fearsome bear.Thundering Tarnation has a bottomless appetite for settler's grub. When word goes out about a competition to hunt this four-legged forest of stubble, a young woman, second to none in buckskin bravery, signs up. "How about baking a pie, Angel?" the other hunters taunt. "I aim to," says Swamp Angel. "A bear pie."What follows is as witty a round of roughhousing as ever jostled the ranks of Americana. Anne Isaacs' original text unfolds in a crackling combination of irony, exaggeration, and bold image-making. Zelinsky's paintings respond with deft yet hilarious expressions, rhythmic shapes, and a sense of monumental motion, as benefits a heroine who can wield a tornado like a lasso, drink a lake dry, and snore down a forest. In the course of these grand shenanigans, the Great Smoky Mountains are stirred up, Montana's short-grass prairie laid down, and Thundering Tarnation's fate proves to have no less a reach than the starry heavens.Swamp Angel marks the debut of a promising new storyteller and adds to the tall-tale traditions a pictorial counterpart that will entertain and endure for a long time to come.

Review:

On the day of her birth, nothing about Angelica Longrider suggested that she would one day become the greatest woodswoman of Tennessee. In fact, the newborn was "scarcely taller than her mother and couldn't climb a tree without help." It's not long, though, before Angelica is vanquishing varmints such as Thundering Tarnation, a huge bear with a taste for settlers' winter rations, and swallowing entire lakes in a gulp.

This tallest of tall tales is an original from an intriguing newcomer to children's books, Anne Isaacs. In the tradition of Paul Bunyan and Pecos Bill, the story of a self-sufficient, tornado-wielding, unflappable heroine lopes along at a perfect pace. Paul O. Zelinsky's folksy oil illustrations are painted on cherry, maple, or birch veneers, with old-fashioned frames; the extravagant and fanciful paintings have garnered the distinguished illustrator yet another Caldecott Honor. (Zelinsky has already received one Caldecott Medal for Rapunzel and two Caldecott Honors for Hansel and Gretel and Rumpelstiltskin.) The dry and fantastically far-fetched humor of the author-illustrator team will make readers of all ages feel as though Angelica herself has tossed 'em in the air so high that they are still on the way up at nightfall. (Ages 4 and older) --Emilie Coulter

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Our store stocks fiction and non-fiction from all areas, including 19th century works. We welcome drop-in visitors during regular store hours, as posted.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Except when noted, all books are returnable within 10 days, provided they are returned in the same condition as sent. We accept checks and money orders directly, or Visa and MasterCard through ABE. If paying by check, books will be shipped after your check clears.

Gold Beach Books, Inc.
P.O. Box 610
29707 Ellensburg Ave.
Gold Beach, OR 97444
USA

State of Oregon Corporation Registry Number 463459-89
Authorized representative: Traci L. Mennis, President (same address)
admin@goldbeachbooks.com
(541...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required. Shipping for overseas orders will be quoted per order.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express