Stock Image

Take This Man

Skyhorse, Brando

968 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1439170878 / ISBN 13: 9781439170878
Published by Simon & Schuster
Condition: Fine Hardcover
From CatchandReleaseBooks (Grottoes, VA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since November 22, 2007

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 35.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 0.00 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

First Edition/First Printing. Fine condition. Brodart protected, ships in a box. Bookseller Inventory # 004126

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Take This Man

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Binding: Hard Cover

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Fine

Edition: First Edition

About this title

Synopsis:

Named one of Kirkus Reviews Best Nonfiction Books of 2014
One of NBC News’s 10 Best Latino Books of 2014

From PEN/Hemingway award winner Brando Skyhorse comes this stunning, heartfelt memoir in the vein of The Glass Castle or The Tender Bar, the true story of a boy’s turbulent childhood growing up with five stepfathers and the mother who was determined to give her son everything but the truth.

When he was three years old, Brando Kelly Ulloa was abandoned by his Mexican father. His mother, Maria, dreaming of a more exciting life, saw no reason for her son to live his life as a Mexican just because he started out as one. The life of “Brando Skyhorse,” the American Indian son of an incarcerated political activist, was about to begin.

Through a series of letters to Paul Skyhorse Johnson, a stranger in prison for armed robbery, Maria reinvents herself and her young son as American Indians in the colorful Mexican-American neighborhood of Echo Park, California. There Brando and his mother live with his acerbic grandmother and a rotating cast of surrogate fathers. It will be over thirty years before Brando begins to untangle the truth of his own past, when a surprise discovery online leads him to his biological father at last.

From an acclaimed, prize-winning novelist celebrated for his “indelible storytelling” (O, The Oprah Magazine), this extraordinary literary memoir captures a son’s single-minded search for a father wherever he can find one, and is destined to become a classic.

Review:

An Amazon Best Book of the Month, June 2014: Brando Skyhorse channeled the Mexican-American voices of his LA childhood in his PEN/Hemingway award-winning novel The Madonnas of Echo Park. But growing up there, he felt distinctly at the fringes, the outsider son of a Native American chief who’d been imprisoned when a political action turned violent. His mother, living by the caveat “at least it’s never boring,” took up with a string of (sometimes overlapping) stepfathers, each presented as his new dad. But at 30, he discovered this real father was a Mexican who’d disappeared when Brando was three--driven off by his erratic mother, who took that opportunity to dramatically revise their history. In a voice rich with grit and grace, Take This Man tells a taut, absorbing story of searching for a father, reconciling an invented identity with some version of truth, and struggling to understand a mother whose grand fabrications and violent outbursts made his early life so electrifying and recklessly chaotic. He doesn’t sugarcoat, and against such rough terrain, his compassion and humor are astonishing. With this book, Skyhorse claims his place among the best modern memoirists. --Mari Malcolm

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Specializing in Rare Books, Signed Books, First Editions, Rare Children's Books, Biographies, Fishing Books, and other Fine, Collectible Books.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Company Name: Catch and Release Books (sole proprietorship)
Address: 504 10th St, Grottoes, VA 24441
Email address: catchandreleasebooks@msn.com
Authorized representative: Geoffrey B Dixon

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web
sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as
Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund
within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your mind about...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 1 business day. Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal