Stock Image

Tales of the Night

Peter Hoeg, Barbara Haveland

746 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0374272549 / ISBN 13: 9780374272548
Used Condition: Good Hardcover
Buy Used
Price: US$ 1.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.25 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

BookHolders
Gambrills, MD, U.S.A.

5-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since June 19, 2001

About this Item

[ No Hassle 30 Day Returns ][ Ships Daily ] [ Underlining/Highlighting: NONE ] [ Writing: NONE ] [ Edition: First Edition ] Publisher: Farrar Straus & Giroux Pub Date: 1/1/1998 Binding: Hardcover Pages: 278 First Edition. Bookseller Inventory # 3865963

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Tales of the Night

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition: Good

About this title

Synopsis:

In his second book and only collection of stories, the author of "Smilla's Sense of Snow" proves himself to be a storyteller in the tradition of Karen Blixen and Joseph Conrad. Moving from a railroad car in the Congo to a sailboat in Lisbon's harbor, these eight classic tales deal with love, the classic arts and sciences, and the confrontation of Western and non-Western cultures.

From the Inside Flap:

Peter Høeg has proven himself a daring literary novelist and a thrilling suspense writer. Now, with this collection of interlaced tales set in Africa, Portugal and Denmark, Høeg unveils his masterful storytelling ability, echoing the literary styles of Joseph Conrad and Karen Blixen.

From a railroad car in the Congo to a ship off Lisbon to an upper class apartment in Copenhagen, these tales all occur on March 29, 1929, as Western and non-Western cultures confront each other in love, hate and science.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

Returns: 30 day returns. "No Hassle" full book purchase price refunds, no restocking fee.


Shipping Terms:

Orders usually ship within 2 business days.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

Check Money Order