Talking to the Dead: A Novel

ISBN 10: 0345533739 / ISBN 13: 9780345533739
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

Gift Quality Book in Excellent Condition. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.77 avg rating
(3,673 ratings)

Synopsis: A mesmerizing and thrilling novel—perfect for fans of Tana French and Stieg Larsson—that introduces a modern, unforgettable rookie cop whose past is as fascinating and as deadly as the crimes she investigates.
 
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The Boston Globe · The Seattle Times


SHE KNOWS WHAT IT’S LIKE. . . .
 
At first, the murder scene appears sad, but not unusual: a young woman undone by drugs and prostitution, her six-year-old daughter dead alongside her. But then detectives find a strange piece of evidence in the squalid house: the platinum credit card of a very wealthy—and long dead—steel tycoon. What is a heroin-addicted hooker doing with the credit card of a well-known and powerful man who died months ago? This is the question that the most junior member of the investigative team, Detective Constable Fiona Griffiths, is assigned to answer.
 
But D.C. Griffiths is no ordinary cop. She’s earned a reputation at police headquarters in Cardiff, Wales, for being odd, for not picking up on social cues, for being a little overintense. And there’s that gap in her past, the two-year hiatus that everyone assumes was a breakdown. But Fiona is a crack investigator, quick and intuitive. She is immediately drawn to the crime scene, and to the tragic face of the six-year-old girl, who she is certain has something to tell her . . . something that will break the case wide open.
 
Ignoring orders and protocol, Fiona begins to explore far beyond the rich man’s credit card and into the secrets of her seaside city. And when she uncovers another dead prostitute, Fiona knows that she’s only begun to scratch the surface of a dark world of crime and murder. But the deeper she digs, the more danger she risks—not just from criminals and killers but from her own past . . . and the abyss that threatens to pull her back at any time.

Praise for Talking to the Dead
 
“Gritty, compelling . . . a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year.”—USA Today
 
“With Detective Constable Fiona ‘Fi’ Griffiths, Harry Bingham . . . finds a sweet spot in crime fiction . . . think Stieg Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander . . . Denise Mina’s ‘Paddy’ Meehan [or] Lee Child’s Jack Reacher. . . . The writing is terrific.”—The Boston Globe
 
“The mystery-thriller genre is already so staffed with masterminds that it’s hard to make room for another. But along comes a book like Talking to the Dead, and suddenly an unadvertised opening is filled. . . . [This] has the feel of something fresh and compelling.”—New York Daily News
 
“A stunner with precision plotting, an unusual setting, and a deeply complex protagonist . . . We have the welcome promise of more books to come about Griffiths.”—The Seattle Times
 
“Recommended highly . . . [a] riveting procedural thriller.”—Library Journal (starred review)

About the Author: Harry Bingham is an author and literary consultant who runs the U.K.’s largest literary consultancy firm, The Writers’ Workshop. He has been longlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and shortlisted for the WH Smith Thumping Good Read Award for previous titles available in the U.K. He resides in Oxfordshire, where he is at work on the next novel in the Fiona Griffiths series.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Talking to the Dead: A Novel
Book Condition: New

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Harry Bingham
Published by Random House Publishing Group
ISBN 10: 0345533739 ISBN 13: 9780345533739
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Silver Arch Books
(St Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Random House Publishing Group. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Book has a small amount of wear visible on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G0345533739I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 11.45
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Delacorte Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345533739 ISBN 13: 9780345533739
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Press, 2012. Book Condition: Good. 1st. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP94200184

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 11.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Delacorte Press (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345533739 ISBN 13: 9780345533739
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Press, 2012. Book Condition: Very Good. 1st. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. Bookseller Inventory # GRP66059375

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 11.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Delacorte Press, New York (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345533739 ISBN 13: 9780345533739
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Uncle Hugo's SF/Uncle Edgar's Mystery
(Minneapolis, MN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Press, New York, 2012. Hard Cover. Book Condition: Very Good. Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good. 1st US Edition. Slightly bumped at head of spine and upper tips; small stain on rear board and reverse of jacket; jacket is slightly edgeworn. Bookseller Inventory # 061405

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 10.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Harry Bingham
ISBN 10: 0345533739 ISBN 13: 9780345533739
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Castle Rock
(Pittsford, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: Very Good. Book Condition: Very Good. Bookseller Inventory # 97803455337393.0

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 14.53
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Delacorte Press
ISBN 10: 0345533739 ISBN 13: 9780345533739
New Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Never Too Many Books
(Danvers, MA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Press. Hardcover. Book Condition: New. 0345533739 First US Edition/ First Printing (Full Number Line) **Tracking on all US orders**Most orders shipped within 24 hours**Insurance to all orders over $50**. Bookseller Inventory # SKU1035365

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 24.29
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 4.29
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Delacorte Press 2012-09-25 (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345533739 ISBN 13: 9780345533739
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
M and N Media
(Acworth, GA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Press 2012-09-25, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. 1st. 0345533739 We guarantee all of our items - customer service and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please allow 4 - 14 business days for Standard shipping, within the US. Bookseller Inventory # POTM-0345533739

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 27.71
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Delacorte Press, New York (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345533739 ISBN 13: 9780345533739
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Time Traveler Books
(Pittsburgh, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Press, New York, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine. First US Edition; First Printing. 9.30 X 6.10 X 1.40 inches; 368 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 20170

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 27.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Delacorte Press, New York (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345533739 ISBN 13: 9780345533739
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Time Traveler Books
(Pittsburgh, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Press, New York, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine. First US Edition; First Printing. No Priority shipping. International orders may require additional postage. ; 9.30 X 6.10 X 1.40 inches; 368 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 20651

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 27.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Bingham, Harry
Published by Delacorte Press, New York (2012)
ISBN 10: 0345533739 ISBN 13: 9780345533739
Used Hardcover First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Time Traveler Books
(Pittsburgh, PA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Delacorte Press, New York, 2012. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fine. Dust Jacket Condition: Fine. First US Edition; First Printing. No Priority shipping. International orders may require additional postage. ; 9.30 X 6.10 X 1.40 inches; 368 pages. Bookseller Inventory # 22606

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 27.95
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 9 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book