Stock Image

A Theory of Relativity

Mitchard, Jacquelyn

3,793 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0694524972 / ISBN 13: 9780694524976
Published by HarperAudio
New Condition: New
From Wonder Book (Frederick, MD, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since November 1, 1997

Quantity Available: 1

Buy New
List Price: US$ 39.95
Price: US$ 3.99 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Audio Cassette. Shrink wrapped! Quality guaranteed! In original artwork/packaging unless otherwise noted. Bookseller Inventory # C08E-00275

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: A Theory of Relativity

Publisher: HarperAudio

Book Condition:New

About this title

Synopsis:

“[An] astonishing pleasure.”

Seattle Times

 

“A graceful, moving, and compelling novel. Jacquelyn Mitchard at her finest.”

—Scott Turow, author of Innocent

 

A poignant and unforgettable novel from Jacquelyn Mitchard, author of the monumental New York Times bestsellers The Deep End of the Ocean and The Most Wanted, A Theory of Relativity is a powerful tale that explores the emotional dynamics and dramas of two families fighting for custody of a young child. The very first author selected by the Oprah Book Club, Mitchard is a matchless, wise, and warm chronicler of families and their human foibles—and A Theory of Relativity is contemporary women’s fiction at its best, a must-read for fans of Sue Miller, Jane Hamilton, and Elizabeth Berg.

Review:

"They died instantly." When it comes to first sentences, it's hard to beat the car-crash immediacy of A Theory of Relativity. What follows, alas, is even more wrenching, if not nearly as black and white. Having perished in the wreck, Georgia and Ray McKenna leave behind an orphaned 1-year-old girl named Keefer--and handsome, self-involved Gordon McKenna decides to adopt his adored sister's child. Unfortunately, that's not what his affluent in-laws have in mind. The ensuing custody battle turns into a protracted legalistic horror show: a kind of Bleak House for the Oprah age, complete with appeals, retrials, PR campaigns, and even last-minute legislation.

The case is all about what's best for Keefer--right? Actually, it's also about what constitutes a family, how much genes determine our fate, and the precise meaning of blood relative. Author of the gripping family dramas The Deep End of the Ocean and The Most Wanted, Jacquelyn Mitchard is no stranger to this fictional territory. To her credit, she has created a story without heroes or villains--but also one that could have used a little more editorial nip-and-tuck. The narrative is strongly weighted toward monologue and exposition, and as a result, a compelling story ends up hampered by an awareness of its own consequence. (There's also an abundance of dialogue like "no wettie!" and "uckie," which reminds us that fiction is one place where toddlers should be seen and not heard.) Still, Mitchard is a canny student of the human heart, and in the age of cloning, in vitro fertilization, and alternative families, the nature versus nurture debate seems more relevant than ever. The author may be no Dickens, but you could call her sentimental in the same way: unafraid, that is, to appeal to her readers' strongest emotions. --Chloe Byrne

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

The books listed on ABE are not always available in our stores. Please do not call our store locations for these items. With 3 stores less than 1 hour outside the DC/Metropolitan area (1 in Gaithersburg, 1 in Frederick and 1 in Hagerstown, MD), we have the largest selection of books in the tri-state area. Wonder Book and Video has been in business since 1980 and online since 1997. We have over 1 Million books for sale on our website and another 1 Million books for sale in our 3 locations. We have a very active online inventory and as such, we can receive multiple orders for the same item. We fill those orders on a first come first serve basis, but will refund promptly any items that are out of stock. Since 1980 it has always been about the books. ALL kinds of books from 95 cent children's paperbacks to five figure rare and collectibles. A merging of the old and new is where we started, and it is where we are today. Our retail stores have always been places where a reader can rush in looking for a title needed for a term paper that is due the next day, or where bibliophiles can get lost "in the stacks" for as long as they wish. In 2002 USAToday recognized us as "1 of 10 Great Old Bookstores", and we have been featured in numerous other newspaper and TV stories including Washington Post and CSpan. Members ABAA, ILAB.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We want you to be satisfied with the book you order. Our general description is conservative and the book should be as good or better than our general description may indicate.

RETURNS are cheerfully accepted up to 30 days. We ship out within 1-2 business days and U.S. Standard Shipments usually arrive within 6-9 business days, Priority 3-6. We want you to be satisfied with the book you order. Our general description is conservative and the book should be as good or better than our general descr...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

STANDARD DOMESTIC U.S. SHIPPING IS FREE. Priority Shipping is only $6.99 for first item, $1 each additional. Orders ship within 2 business days. Shipping outside of U.S. is typically between $8-13 and takes between 8-15 business days. Heavier books may require additional shipping. Faster Needs Please Inquire.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express