Stock Image

My Thoughts on Music and Musicians (Essay Index Reprint Series)

Statham, Henry Heathcote

0 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0836929241 / ISBN 13: 9780836929249
Published by Books for Libraries, 1972
Used Condition: Good
From Better World Books (Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since August 3, 2006 Seller Rating 5-star rating

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 4.90 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP85663188

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: My Thoughts on Music and Musicians (Essay ...

Publisher: Books for Libraries

Publication Date: 1972

Book Condition:Good

About this title


This historic book may have numerous typos and missing text. Purchasers can download a free scanned copy of the original book (without typos) from the publisher. Not indexed. Not illustrated. 1892 Excerpt: ...stress in the music there is not for a moment any forgetfulness of the conditions of the art, any indication of the idea that emotional earnestness can compensate for roughness of execution, except in one brief but significant passage, to be noted just now. This passes in a moment, however; in the main the composer never forgets, in this work with its poetic meaning, that he is writing music, and writing it for a band; the minute finish of the composition is as remarkable as its expressive power, every instrument is treated in the manner most characteristic of its peculiar genius and most fitted to contribute towards the general musical effect of the whole. What was that one passage, referred to just now, where the composer may be said to have momentarily forgotten or put aside the true conditions of musical art? It is the passage, well known to musicians, just before the return of the principal subject iu the second part of the movement, where, while we are still occupied with the harmony of the dominant seventh, which is leading up to the return of the principal subject on the full chord of the tonic, the horn softly plays the opening phrase of the said subject, as if to draw attention to the fact that its return may be immediately expected:--The horn plays the notes of the tonic harmony while the violins are continuing their parts in the harmony of the dominant seventh (the B flat of the bass has been sounded, but is dropped for the moment); the G of the horn clashes in an arbitrary manner with the A flat of the second violins; and young Ries, Beethoven's pupil, standing by while the master conducts at rehearsal, and feeling sure the horn has blundered, exclaims, "Listen to that stupid! Can't he count?" and narrowly escapes getting his ears box...

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

100% refunds guaranteed, no questions asked.

Shipping Terms:

We ship daily!

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express