Stock Image

Tin Men

Frayn, Michael

187 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0006122604 / ISBN 13: 9780006122609
Published by HarperCollins Distribution Services, 1972
Used Condition: Fair
From Better World Books (Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since August 3, 2006

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 7.31 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP78519196

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Tin Men

Publisher: HarperCollins Distribution Services

Publication Date: 1972

Book Condition:Fair

Edition: New impression.

About this title


The William Morris Institute of Automation Research is working hard to simplify our lives by programming computers to carry out life's routine tasks. Whether it's resolving ethical dilemmas, writing pornographic novels, saying prayers, or watching sports, these automation experts are developing machines to handle it all, enabling us to enjoy more free time. But when it's announced that the Queen will be paying a royal visit and the Institute's madcap bunch of researchers decide to program the computers to receive her, what could possibly go wrong?

Winner of the Somerset Maugham Award, The Tin Men (1965) is the brilliantly comic first novel from Michael Frayn, author of the Booker Prize-nominated Headlong, Spies, and Skios, and Noises Off, 'the funniest farce ever written' (NY Times). This 50th anniversary reissue features a new introduction by the author.

'Continuously funny ... The fun of The Tin Men is outrageous because it is so serious.' - Anthony Burgess, Guardian

'A fast swooping performance by one of our very serious satirists ... This is a very funny book and delightful to read.' - William Trevor, The Listener

'Dazzlingly funny ... perfect pieces of comedy.' - Observer

About the Author:

Michael Frayn was born in London in 1933 and began his career as a journalist on the Guardian and the Observer. His novels include Towards the End of the Morning, The Trick of It and A Landing on the Sun. Headlong (1999) was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and Spies (2002) won the Whitbread Best Novel Award. His most recent novel, Skios, was longlisted for the Booker Prize. His fifteen plays range from Noises Off to Copenhagen and, most recently, Afterlife. He is married to the writer Claire Tomalin.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

100% refunds guaranteed, no questions asked.

Shipping Terms:

We ship daily!

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express