Stock Image

Toby Wheeler: Eighth Grade Benchwarmer

Thatcher Heldring

140 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0440421837 / ISBN 13: 9780440421832
Published by Yearling November 2008, 2008
Used Condition: Good - Used
Buy Used
Price: US$ 3.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

Mathom House Books, Inc.
San Clemente, CA, U.S.A.

4-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since December 21, 2006

About this Item

Book condition is good or better unless otherwise noted. Paperbacks, especially mass market paperbacks, will have spine creasing and may have age toned pages and curled covers. Binding will be intact, no major splits unless otherwise noted. We do our best to describe each book accurately. Any discrepancy between what is described and what is pulled will be noted in an email. If you would like a detailed description beyond what has been provided, please ask. Bookseller Inventory # 251608

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Toby Wheeler: Eighth Grade Benchwarmer

Publisher: Yearling November 2008

Publication Date: 2008

Binding: Trade

Book Condition: Good - Used

About this title

Synopsis:

Fans of John Feinstein and Matt de la Peña will love Toby Wheeler's dreams of being a basketball star that Phil Jackson says is "a truly great basketball story."

And don't miss Thatcher Heldring's newest novel, The Football Girl--about a girl who follows her passion for the game and tries out for the football team!

When Toby Wheeler has a chance to join the junior high basketball team, he’s eager to prove he can keep up with his best friend, JJ. But practice doesn’t go quite as Toby has planned, and when the coach announces the lineup, Toby’s hopes of playing ball with JJ are history: he’s an eighth-grade benchwarmer!

"A truly great basketball story. Every hoops fan will love this book.”—Phil Jackson, former head coach of the Los Angeles Lakers and member of the NBA Hall of Fame

"This novel will appeal to readers who are looking for something one step beyond Matt Christopher's books."—SLJ

"This engaging sports story gains depth from subplots involving Toby's tricky relationships with his former best friend and with the coach's daughter."–The Horn Book

"Looking for something to do during halftime of the March Madness basketball games? Read this book.”-The Washington Post

"With so much written about the friction between girl friends, it's good to have a book that acknowledges that left-out feeling happens to boys, too."–Booklist

About the Author:

THATCHER HELDRING grew up in the Pacific Northwest, where he taught himself to write and play sports—though not at the same time. Heldring has had several jobs in publishing. He has also worked as a grocery bagger, a ditchdigger, a small forward, a goalie, a scorekeeper, a coach, a rabid fan, a benchwarmer, and a shortstop. He lives with his wife and son in Seattle, a good place for indoor sports.
   He is the author of Toby Wheeler: Eighth-Grade Benchwarmer, Roy Morelli Steps Up to the Plate, The League, and The Football Girl. To learn more about Thatcher and his books, visit him online at spitballinc.com or follow @theldring on Twitter.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you¿ve changed your mind about a book that you¿ve ordered, please use the [Ask bookseller a question] link to contact us and we'll respond within 2 business days.


Shipping Terms:

OUR SHIPPING POLICY IS AS FOLLOWS: WITHIN THE CONTINENTAL U.S 4TH CLASS SURFACE POST IS $3.99 FOR THE FIRST BOOK AND $1.75 FOR EACH ADDITIONAL BOOK. PRIORITY MAIL IS $6.00 FOR THE FIRST BOOK AND $4 FOR EACH ADDITIONAL BOOK. CONTACT US FOR FURTHER INFORMATION. CALIFORNIA RESIDENTS ADD 8.0% SALES TAX. ALL SHIPPING PRICES ARE REGARDLESS OF THE WEIGHT OF THE MERCHANDISE.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express