The Trouble With Testosterone: And Other Essays On The Biology Of The Human Predicament

Robert M. Sapolsky

Published by Scribner, 1998
ISBN 10: 0684838915 / ISBN 13: 9780684838915
Used / Paperback / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! L. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.11 avg rating
(953 ratings)

Synopsis: Finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize

From the man who Oliver Sacks hailed as “one of the best scientist/writers of our time,” a collection of sharply observed, uproariously funny essays on the biology of human culture and behavior.

In the tradition of Stephen Jay Gould and Oliver Sacks, Robert Sapolsky offers a sparkling and erudite collection of essays about science, the world, and our relation to both. “The Trouble with Testosterone” explores the influence of that notorious hormone on male aggression. “Curious George’s Pharmacy” reexamines recent exciting claims that wild primates know how to medicate themselves with forest plants. “Junk Food Monkeys” relates the adventures of a troop of baboons who stumble upon a tourist garbage dump. And “Circling the Blanket for God” examines the neurobiological roots underlying religious belief.

Drawing on his career as an evolutionary biologist and neurobiologist, Robert Sapolsky writes about the natural world vividly and insightfully. With candor, humor, and rich observations, these essays marry cutting-edge science with humanity, illuminating the interconnectedness of the world’s inhabitants with skill and flair.

Review: As a professor of biology and neuroscience at Stanford and a recipient of a MacArthur Foundation "genius grant," Robert Sapolsky carries impressive credentials. Best of all, he's a gifted writer who possesses a delightfully devilish sense of humor. In these essays, which range widely but mostly focus on the relationships between biology and human behavior, hard and intricate science is handled with a deft touch that makes it accessible to the general reader. In one memorable piece, Sapolsky compares the fascination with tabloid TV to behavior he's observed among wild African baboons. "Rubber necks," notes the professor, "seem to be a common feature of the primate order." In the title essay of The Trouble with Testosterone, Sapolsky ruminates on the links, real or perceived, between that hormone and aggression.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Trouble With Testosterone: And Other ...
Publisher: Scribner
Publication Date: 1998
Binding: Paperback
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Sapolsky, Robert M.
Published by Scribner
ISBN 10: 0684838915 ISBN 13: 9780684838915
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Hawking Books
(Lake Arrowhead, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: Good. 0684838915 Good Condition. Has writing/highlighting. Five star seller - Buy with confidence!. Bookseller Inventory # Z0684838915Z3

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.09
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Sapolsky, Robert M.
Published by Scribner
ISBN 10: 0684838915 ISBN 13: 9780684838915
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Campus Bookstore
(Fayetteville, AR, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner. Book Condition: Good. Used - Good BOOK ONLY 1st Edition May contain highlighting/underlining/notes/etc. May have used stickers on cover. Ships same or next day. Expedited shipping takes 2-3 business days; standard shipping takes 4-14 business days. Bookseller Inventory # UTA-R-020-326

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Robert M. Sapolsky
Published by Scribner
ISBN 10: 0684838915 ISBN 13: 9780684838915
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Sierra Nevada Books
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G0684838915I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 9.33
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Sapolsky, Robert M.
Published by Scribner Book Company 1998-04-01 (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684838915 ISBN 13: 9780684838915
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
BookOutlet
(Thorold, ON, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner Book Company 1998-04-01, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Paperback. Publisher overstock, may contain remainder mark on edge. Bookseller Inventory # 9780684838915B

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 4.99
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 6.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Sapolsky, Robert M.
Published by Scribner
ISBN 10: 0684838915 ISBN 13: 9780684838915
Used PAPERBACK Quantity Available: 1
Seller
glenthebookseller
(Montgomery, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Scribner. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: Good. 0684838915 Item in good condition. Textbooks may not include supplemental items i.e. CDs, access codes etc. Bookseller Inventory # Z0684838915Z3

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 7.20
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.00
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Sapolsky, Robert M.
Published by Simon & Schuster, New York, NY (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684838915 ISBN 13: 9780684838915
Used Soft cover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Books! Everywhere Books!
(Evansville, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster, New York, NY, 1998. Soft cover. Book Condition: Fair. Book is in fair condition with edgewear, curling of cover, slightly scuffed/discolored cover, creases on cover, mark on lower page sides, a couple of creases pages, and twenty page with notes/highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 031416

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 8.00
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

SAPOLSKY
Published by Simon and Schuster
ISBN 10: 0684838915 ISBN 13: 9780684838915
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
INDOO
(Avenel, NJ, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon and Schuster. Book Condition: New. Brand New. Bookseller Inventory # 0684838915

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.37
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Sapolsky, Robert M.
ISBN 10: 0684838915 ISBN 13: 9780684838915
New Quantity Available: > 20
Seller
Paperbackshop-US
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 1998. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # VS-9780684838915

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 7.91
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Robert M. Sapolsky
Published by Simon and Schuster (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684838915 ISBN 13: 9780684838915
New Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon and Schuster, 1998. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IB-9780684838915

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 9.39
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 11.61
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Robert M. Sapolsky
Published by SIMON SCHUSTER, United States (1998)
ISBN 10: 0684838915 ISBN 13: 9780684838915
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Seller
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description SIMON SCHUSTER, United States, 1998. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book. In The Trouble with Testosterone, Robert M. Sapolsky draws from his career as a behavioral biologist to interpret the peculiar drives and intrinsic needs of that most exotic species - Homo sapiens. With candor, humor, and lush observations, these essays marry cutting-edge science with a rich and compassionate humanity. Sapolsky s book ranges broadly over the web of life, studying its details and plotting its themes. Curious George s Pharmacy examines recent exciting claims that wild primates know how to medicate themselves with forest plants. Junk Food Monkeys relates the adventures of a troop of baboons who stumble onto a tourist garbage dump. Poverty s Remains claims that science is as riddled with metaphors as a Shakespearean sonnet. Measures of Life begins as a witty analysis of firing squads and concludes as a dazzling meditation on the roles and responsibilities of scientists. And in the final essay, the brilliant and penetrating Circling the Blanket for God, Sapolsky shows that science and religion emanate from the same place: the human brain. These pieces, then, reveal the contradictions that confront those who describe the world objectively, those who try to reconcile the truths of the mind with the burdens of the heart. Bookseller Inventory # BZV9780684838915

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 12.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 33 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book