Stock Image
Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture [ARC]: Doxiadis, Apostolos Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture [ARC]: Doxiadis, Apostolos Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture [ARC]: Doxiadis, Apostolos Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture [ARC]: Doxiadis, Apostolos

Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture [ARC]

Doxiadis, Apostolos

3,431 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1582340676 / ISBN 13: 9781582340678
Published by Bloomsbury Pub Plc USA, New York, New York, U.S.A., 2000
Condition: Fine Soft cover
From Sylvia's Books (Athen, GA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since April 21, 2010

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 30.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

This is a wonderful FINE copy of Doxiadis' Uncle Petros & Goldbach's Conjecture. This copy is a first-of-the-firsts Advance Reading Copy and it is perfect for collectors or for gift-giving. Beautiful ARC. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 000910

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture [ARC]

Publisher: Bloomsbury Pub Plc USA, New York, New York, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 2000

Binding: Original Wraps

Book Condition:Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Without Jacket as Released

Edition: Special Advance Reading Copy

Book Type: Advance Reading Copy (ARC)

About this title

Synopsis:

In the tradition of Fermat's Last Theorem and Einstein's Dreams, a novel about mathematical obsession.

Petros Papachristos devotes the early part of his life trying to prove one of the greatest mathematical challenges of all time: Goldbach's Conjecture, the deceptively simple claim that every even number greater than two is the sum of two primes. Against a tableau of famous historical figures-among them G.H. Hardy, the self-taught Indian genius Srinivasa Ramanujan, and a young Kurt Godel-Petros works furiously to prove the notoriously difficult conjecture. Decades later, his ambitious young nephew drives the defeated mathematician back into the hunt to prove Goldbach's Conjecture. . . but at the cost of the old man's sanity, and perhaps even his life.

Review:

"Every family has its black sheep--in ours it was Uncle Petros." The narrator of Apostolos Doxiadis's first novel, Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture, is unable to understand the reasons for his uncle's fall from grace. A kindly, gentle recluse devoted only to gardening and chess, Petros Papachristos exhibits no sign of dissolution or indolence: so why is he held in such low esteem? One day, his brother reveals all:

'Your Uncle Petros cast pearls before swine; he took something holy and sacred and great, and shamelessly defiled it!' ... 'His gift, of course!' ... 'The great, unique gift that God had blessed him with, his phenomenal, unprecedented, mathematical talent! The miserable fool wasted it; he squandered it and threw it out with the garbage. Can you imagine it? The ungrateful bastard never did one day's useful work in mathematics. Never! Nothing! Zero!'
Needless to say, such apoplexy only provokes the boy's curiosity, and what he eventually discovers is a story of obsession and frustration, of Uncle Petros's attempts at finding a proof for one of mathematics' great enigmas--Goldbach's Conjecture.

The innumerate may initially find this undramatic material for a novel. Yet Doxiadis offers up a beautifully imagined narrative, which reveals a rarefied world of the intellect that few people will ever enter, in which numbers are entirely animate entities, each possessed of "a distinct personality." Without ever alienating the reader, he demonstrates the enchantments of this art as well as the ambition, envy, and search for glory that permeate its apostles. Balancing the narrator's own awkward move into adulthood with the painful memories of his brilliant relative, Doxiadis shows how seductive the world of numbers can be, and how cruel a mistress. "A mathematician is born, not made," Petros declares--an inheritance that proves both a curse and a gift. --Burhan Tufail

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described on the Abebooks web sites. If you're
dissatisfied with your purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the order hasn't
arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30 days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed
your mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask bookseller a question link to contact
us and we'll respond within 2 business days. Sylvia's Books, Sylvia Weller, 135 Mansfield Ct.,
Athens, ...

More Information
Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal