Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots

Feldman, Deborah

Published by Simon & Schuster, 2012
ISBN 10: 1439187002 / ISBN 13: 9781439187005
Used / Hardcover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

We ship International with Tracking Number! May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service! j. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.67 avg rating
(15,949 ratings)

Synopsis: The instant New York Times bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman’s escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali’s Infidel and Carolyn Jessop’s Escape.

The Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism is as mysterious as it is intriguing to outsiders. In this arresting memoir, Deborah Feldman reveals what life is like trapped within a religious tradition that values silence and suffering over individual freedoms.

Deborah grew up under a code of relentlessly enforced customs governing everything from what she could wear and to whom she could speak to what she was allowed to read. It was stolen moments spent with the empowered literary characters of Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott that helped her to imagine an alternative way of life. Trapped as a teenager in a sexually and emotionally dysfunctional marriage to a man she barely knew, the tension between Deborah’s desires and her responsibilities as a good Satmar girl grew more explosive until she gave birth at nineteen and realized that, for the sake of herself and her son, she had to escape.

About the Author: Deborah Feldman was raised in the Hasidic community of Satmar in the Williamsburg section of Brooklyn, New York. She attends Sarah Lawrence College and lives in New York City with her son.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My ...
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication Date: 2012
Binding: Hardcover
Book Condition: Used: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Feldman, Deborah
Published by Simon & Schuster (2012)
ISBN 10: 1439187002 ISBN 13: 9781439187005
Used Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster, 2012. Book Condition: Good. Fourth Edition. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP63707604

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Feldman, Deborah
Published by Simon & Schuster (2012)
ISBN 10: 1439187002 ISBN 13: 9781439187005
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster, 2012. Book Condition: Good. Fourth Edition. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP85919769

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Feldman, Deborah
Published by Simon & Schuster (2012)
ISBN 10: 1439187002 ISBN 13: 9781439187005
Used Quantity Available: 4
Seller
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster, 2012. Book Condition: Good. Fourth Edition. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP64491184

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Feldman, Deborah
Published by Simon & Schuster (2012)
ISBN 10: 1439187002 ISBN 13: 9781439187005
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster, 2012. Book Condition: Good. Fourth Edition. Ships from Reno, NV. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Bookseller Inventory # GRP88280037

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Deborah Feldman
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1439187002 ISBN 13: 9781439187005
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. book was well loved but cared for. Possible ex-library copy with all the usual markings and stickers. Some light textual notes, highlighting and underling. Bookseller Inventory # 2725189145

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Deborah Feldman
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1439187002 ISBN 13: 9781439187005
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. Good clean copy with no missing pages might be an ex library copy; Possibly may have minor marginal notes and or highlighting. Bookseller Inventory # 2772736847

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Deborah Feldman
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1439187002 ISBN 13: 9781439187005
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: GOOD. book was well loved but cared for. Possible ex-library copy with all the usual markings and stickers. Some light textual notes, highlighting and underling. Bookseller Inventory # 2772736973

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.65
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Deborah Feldman
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1439187002 ISBN 13: 9781439187005
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Second City Books
(Aurora, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G1439187002I3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Deborah Feldman
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1439187002 ISBN 13: 9781439187005
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Yankee Clipper Books
(Windsor Locks, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: Fair. Bookseller Inventory # G1439187002I5N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Feldman, Deborah
Published by Simon & Schuster
ISBN 10: 1439187002 ISBN 13: 9781439187005
Used Hardcover Quantity Available: 2
Seller
Sierra Nevada Books
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Simon & Schuster. Hardcover. Book Condition: Good. Book has some visible wear on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G1439187002I3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 3.81
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 81 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book