Stock Image

The Vanished Child

Smith, Sarah

289 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 0345373502 / ISBN 13: 9780345373502
Published by Ballantine Books, Westminster, Maryland, U.S.A., 1992
Condition: Near Fine Hardcover
From citynightsbooks (Allston, MA, U.S.A.)

AbeBooks Seller Since August 17, 2004

Quantity Available: 1

Buy Used
Price: US$ 50.00 Convert Currency
Shipping: Free Within U.S.A. Destination, rates & speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

About this Item

First printing. Navy cloth spine, teal boards, gilt titles. Flatsigned on titled page. A ghost story in the tradition of Edith Wharton and Edgar Allen Poe. Book unread, as new with some aging to paper. DJ very good plus with edgewear to head of spine and creases to front flap. 420 pp. Bookseller Inventory # 2402

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Vanished Child

Publisher: Ballantine Books, Westminster, Maryland, U.S.A.

Publication Date: 1992

Binding: Hardcover

Book Condition:Near Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good

Signed: Signed by Author(s)

Edition: First Edition.

Book Type: Book

About this title

Synopsis:

"Truly mesmerizing."
MILWAUKEE JOURNAL
New England, 1887. The millionaire William Knight is brutally murdered and the only witness is his grandchild, Richard, who himself disappears, and is presumed dead. Eighteen years later, Richard is "recognized" in Switzerland in the person of Alexander von Reisden, and William Knight's only son, Gilbert, is convinced that this man is the long lost child. Reisden, himself, has no memory of any childhood, and his own growing obsession with finding the real Richard is leading him closer to a shattering thruth. And to a killer, still at large....
"A most satisfying tale."
NEW YORK DAILY NEWS

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK
From the Paperback edition.

From the Publisher:

Set in turn-of-the century Boston society, a compelling, gothic tale of a two men attempting to solve a 20-year-old murder. This is a New York Times notable book - and rightly so. Enigmatic and entertaining. The sequel, THE KNOWLEDGE OF WATER, is set in Paris and centers around strange doings in the art world; this book is also a New York Times Notable book.

Teri Henry,
Director Subsidiary Rights

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

citynightsbooks allows/refunds within the Abebooks' guidelines. Please refer to their policy on this matter and contact us first via e-mail or telephone.


Shipping Terms:

All books shipped with foam board or corrugated protection and bubblewrap. All
hardcovers with dust jackets shipped with archival covers. Books shipped within 48
hours via USPS, media mail or priority (specify preference). Please refer to
shipping chart for specific costs.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express

PayPal