Stock Image

Virtual Organization: Toward a Theory of Societal Transformation Stimulated by Information Technology

2 ratings by Goodreads
ISBN 10: 1567205011 / ISBN 13: 9781567205015
Used Condition: LikeNew
Buy Used
Price: US$ 14.50 Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 3.99 Within U.S.A. Destination, Rates & Speeds
Add to basket

30 Day Return Policy

Offered By

Sharehousegoods
Milwaukee, WI, U.S.A.

4-star rating

AbeBooks Seller Since February 4, 2013

About this Item

Our Ranking is Your Confidence! This book has been examined carefully and the cover and pages are in very good condition. It is clean and tight inside. Fast Shipping - Safe and Secure Mailer - Our goal is to deliver a better item than what you are hoping for! If not we will make it right! This is an overstock school textbook with customary markings. Never used. Bookseller Inventory # 1XG77X000XHP

Quantity Available: 1

Ask Seller a Question

Bibliographic Details

Title: Virtual Organization: Toward a Theory of ...

Book Condition: LikeNew

About this title

Synopsis:

Computers mediate between individuals by providing channels of communication in the form of messaging sytems. They act as brokers in matching buyers and sellers, employees and employers, resources and work processes, and so on. The explosive growth of electronic commerce on the Internet has made such functions commonplace. Computer-based mediation and brokerage, along with the expanding role of information technology in the continuing globalization of the economy, has tremendous political, social, managerial, and economic consequences. For managers, and for the concept of organization in general, these consequences manifest themselves most clearly in the ^Ivirtual organization,^R a new paradigm that has been evolving for decades and that is swiftly gathering steam and overtaking traditional organization. Virtual organization is founded on the separation of requirements (for example, inputs such as components) from the ways in which requirements are met, or satisfiers (for example, suppliers and distribution networks). Separating these elements allows managers to switch easily from one way of meeting a requirement to another, by, for example, laying off higher-paid workers in the United States and hiring cheaper labor overseas or south of the border.

Used systematically, switching brings huge increases in productivity, provided that transaction costs are held in check. The price of this increased inefficiency is that, practiced regularly, switching weakens personal, political, and business loyalties. Absent a sense of loyalty to persons or places, virtual organizations distance themselves―both geographically and psychologically―from the regions and countries in which they operate. This process is undermining the nation-state, which cannot continue indefinitely to control virtual organizations. A new feudal system is in the making, in which power and authority are vested in private hands but which is based on globally distributed resources rather than on possession of land. The evolution of this new political economy will determine how we do business in the future. Management scholars, political scientists, policy analysts, sociologists, economists, legal scholars, computer scientists, managers, government professionals, information technology professionals, and even students of philosophy will find Mowshowitz's valuable insights useful in their respective efforts to determine the highly variegated meanings of virtual organization.

Book Description:

Examining today's prevailing factors and modes of production in the tradition of Adam Smith and Karl Marx, the author analyzes the virtual organization and its management in the context of global markets and an emerging neo-feudal political economy.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Store Description

Sharing is the best surprise When we share our excess with others we¿re often surprised by what we feel, what changes in us, and who we get to know in the process. Sharehouse Goods exists to create that experience for as many people as possible. Sharehouse Goods receives excess stuff from individuals or organizations (our sharers), and then we liquidate that stuff, creating jobs for people in Milwaukee. The process is simple: we receive what people are willing to share, and then we sell it online or at our storefront, creating revenue for the sharers (to keep or to donate), and jobs for people who are struggling to find employment. There¿s a lot of sharing going on, and even more surprises, at Sharehouse Goods.

Visit Seller's Storefront

Terms of Sale:

We guarantee the condition of every book as it's described
on the Abebooks web sites. If you're dissatisfied with your
purchase (Incorrect Book/Not as Described/Damaged) or if the
order hasn't arrived, you're eligible for a refund within 30
days of the estimated delivery date. If you've changed your
mind about a book that you've ordered, please use the Ask
bookseller a question link to contact us and we'll respond
within 2 business days.


Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.

List this Seller's Books

Payment Methods
accepted by seller

Visa Mastercard American Express