The Wandering Heart (3 Copies available)

Malloy, Mary

Published by Leapfrog Press, 2009
ISBN 10: 0981514855 / ISBN 13: 9780981514857
Used / Soft Cover / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

407pp. Illustrated wrappers with framed painting of a knight and lady-in-waiting in fond association, hanging on wall with ornate exquisitely patterned red wall-paper. 3 copies available; two flatsigned on title page, the third inscribed on title page by author to previous owner. Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.73 avg rating
(82 ratings)

Synopsis:

Praise for Mary Malloy’s work:

“A tour de force—fascinating, highly readable, and meticulously researched.”—Nathaniel Philbrick

“Meticulously researched and engagingly written.”—Seattle Times

“In the tradition of Byatt’s Possession, Malloy’s debut novel is a complex and masterfully woven tale that will keep readers up far into the night.”—Caroline Preston, author of Jackie by Josie and Gatsby’s Girl

Historian Lizzie Manning didn’t set out to become a sleuth, and she had no intention of becoming personally involved in a medieval mystery. Her expertise lay in eighteenth-century maritime voyages, and her assignment was to find a Tlingit Indian corpse robbed from its grave two hundred years ago during Captain Cook’s Pacific voyage. First accident, then compulsion, pull her deeper into the past, through thirty generations of one British family. Lizzie’s sources aren’t fingerprints and firearms, but documents, artifacts, paintings, architecture, and even the landscape—though modern forensic science helps clarify what happened to a few ancient corpses. Lizzie’s work takes on personal meaning as she is drawn into her own family’s history of insanity and a search for a Crusader’s disembodied heart.

As with Elizabeth Peters’ Amelia Peabody and Amanda Cross’ Kate Fansler, Mary Malloy creates a heroine who is a respected scholar in her field, and who draws on her expertise to solve the mysteries that come her way.

Mary Malloy, PhD, is the author of four maritime history books. She is a professor of maritime history at Sea Education Association in Woods Hole, Massachusetts, and of museum studies at Harvard University.

From Publishers Weekly: Maritime historian Malloy (Devil on the Deep Blue Sea) makes an impressive fiction debut with this first installment of a planned trilogy. Elizabeth Lizzie Manning, a history professor on winter break from St. Patrick's College in Charlestown, Mass., is intrigued when George F.R. Hatton, a British aristocrat, asks for her advice on family artifacts. George's ancestor, Lt. Francis Hatton, collected the pieces when he accompanied Capt. James Cook on his third voyage to the Pacific Ocean. Lizzie soon discovers more than just a treasure trove at George's Somerset estate: there's also a family curse of once-a-century suicides of all the Elizabeth Hattons, with Bette, George's mentally ill sister, the only survivor. Through her research, Lizzie learns that she might be a Hatton relation and suffers eerie flashbacks and fears that she might be the next victim. Malloy mixes history and fantasy with flair (one of the not-so-doomed Elizabeths had an affair with pre-Raphaelite Dante Gabriel Rossetti) and delivers a wonderfully satisfying puzzler. (Apr.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Wandering Heart (3 Copies available)
Publisher: Leapfrog Press
Publication Date: 2009
Binding: Soft Cover
Book Condition: As New
Edition: First Edition, First Printing.

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Mary Malloy
Published by Leapfrog Press
ISBN 10: 0981514855 ISBN 13: 9780981514857
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Free Shipping Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Leapfrog Press. Paperback. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 2809112844

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

2.

Mary Malloy
Published by Leapfrog Press
ISBN 10: 0981514855 ISBN 13: 9780981514857
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Leapfrog Press. Paperback. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 2851995252

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

3.

Mary Malloy
Published by Leapfrog Press
ISBN 10: 0981514855 ISBN 13: 9780981514857
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Bayside Books
(Livermore, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Leapfrog Press. Paperback. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 2893537244

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

4.

Mary Malloy
Published by Leapfrog Press
ISBN 10: 0981514855 ISBN 13: 9780981514857
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Hippo Books
(Toledo, OH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Leapfrog Press. Paperback. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 2896363348

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

5.

Mary Malloy
Published by Leapfrog Press
ISBN 10: 0981514855 ISBN 13: 9780981514857
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Discover Books
(Baltimore, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Leapfrog Press. Paperback. Condition: VERY GOOD. Light rubbing wear to cover, spine and page edges. Very minimal writing or notations in margins not affecting the text. Possible clean ex-library copy, with their stickers and or stamp(s). Seller Inventory # 2894764127

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.63
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

6.

Malloy, Mary
Published by Leapfrog Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0981514855 ISBN 13: 9780981514857
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 2
Seller:
Better World Books
(Mishawaka, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Leapfrog Press, 2009. Condition: Good. First Edition. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP36149548

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

7.

Malloy, Mary
Published by Leapfrog Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0981514855 ISBN 13: 9780981514857
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Leapfrog Press, 2009. Condition: Good. First Edition. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. Seller Inventory # GRP90519391

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

8.

Malloy, Mary
Published by Leapfrog Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0981514855 ISBN 13: 9780981514857
Used First Edition Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Better World Books: West
(Reno, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Leapfrog Press, 2009. Condition: Fair. First Edition. Ships from Reno, NV. Former Library book. Shows definite wear, and perhaps considerable marking on inside. Seller Inventory # GRP96522022

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.64
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

9.

Mary Malloy
Published by Leapfrog Press
ISBN 10: 0981514855 ISBN 13: 9780981514857
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
ThriftBooks
(Auburn, WA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Leapfrog Press. Paperback. Condition: Good. A copy that has been read, but remains in clean condition. All pages are intact, and the cover is intact. The spine may show signs of wear. Pages can include limited notes and highlighting, and the copy can include previous owner inscriptions. At ThriftBooks, our motto is: Read More, Spend Less. Seller Inventory # G0981514855I3N00

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 3.95
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

10.

Mary Malloy
Published by Leapfrog Press (2009)
ISBN 10: 0981514855 ISBN 13: 9780981514857
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Leapfrog Press, 2009. Paperback. Condition: Used: Good. Seller Inventory # SONG0981514855

More information about this seller | Contact this seller

Buy Used
US$ 8.13
Convert currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, rates & speeds

There are 13 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book