The Way of the Phoenix: Tales and Teachings

Emrys, Stifyn

Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1490398694 / ISBN 13: 9781490398693
Used / Paperback / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

This book shows minor wear and is in very good condition. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
4.6 avg rating
(5 ratings)

Synopsis: "The Way of the Phoenix" is a companion volume to "The Gospel of the Phoenix." As the latter book explored the life of Jesus from a new perspective, this work uses the style of wisdom literature to offer insights into life, ethics and meaning. "The Way of the Phoenix" is divided into two sections. The first is a series of tales modeled after the parables of Jesus, the fables of Aesop, the stories of Hans Christian Andersen and others. The second is a series of teachings in the style of proverbs, sayings and aphorisms, grouped according to subject matter. All the material here is original, but the subjects are familiar. "The Way of the Phoenix" is a work in the tradition of Kahlil Gibran, Paul Coelho and others who have used the language of legend and fable to tell new stories based on timeless truths.

About the Author: Stifyn Emrys is a veteran journalist and educator who has written on subjects as diverse as history, religion, politics and language. He has served as an editor for fiction and non-fiction projects, and his first book, "The Gospel of the Phoenix," was published in the summer of 2012. This work, based on years of research into the political and pagan origins of Judeo-Christian thought, follows in the tradition of such writers as Kahlil Gibran, Thomas Jefferson ("The Jefferson Bible") and Robert Graves ("King Jesus"). It examines the life of Jesus in biblical style through the lens of sources including the canonical gospels, the Jesus sutras, the Gnostic gospels and the Egyptian Book of the Dead. His second book, "Requiem for a Phantom God," provides a critique of monotheism from a historical and philosophical perspective. Most recently, he has published "The Phoenix Principle: Pagan Birthright of the Christian God," a comprehensive look at the pagan and political underpinnings of the Judeo-Christian tradition. This exhaustive 736-page work will appeal to readers of Sir James Frazer's "The Golden Bough." It offers a look at the strand of mystical tradition that runs from ancient Egypt and Mesopotamia, through Jewish and Christian lore to the legends of Robin Hood and King Arthur. Also in the non-fiction category, he produced "Undefeated," a series of vignettes focusing on individuals who have triumphed over bullying, bigotry and oppression. More recently, he has published three works of fiction: * "Feathercap," a new fairytale for children and adults. * "Identity Break," the first installment in a new "Identity Quest" YA/science fiction/adventure series and the author's first novel. * "Artifice," a novella in the "Identity Quest" series. The author has lectured occasionally on the pagan origins of Christianity and continues to research the development of religious traditions. He has worked as an editor, columnist, educator and reporter and serves as editor of the young adult novels "Mad World: EPIDEMIC" and "Mad World: SANCTUARY" by Samaire Provost. He lives in California with his wife, stepson, one cat and one dog.

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Way of the Phoenix: Tales and Teachings
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Binding: Paperback
Book Condition: Very Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Emrys, Stifyn
ISBN 10: 1490398694 ISBN 13: 9781490398693
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Pbshop
(Wood Dale, IL, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Shipped from US within 10 to 14 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9781490398693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 8.27
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Emrys, Stifyn
ISBN 10: 1490398694 ISBN 13: 9781490398693
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
Books2Anywhere
(Fairford, GLOS, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description 2013. PAP. Book Condition: New. New Book. Delivered from our UK warehouse in 3 to 5 business days. THIS BOOK IS PRINTED ON DEMAND. Established seller since 2000. Bookseller Inventory # IQ-9781490398693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 10.01
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 12.22
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Stifyn Emrys
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1490398694 ISBN 13: 9781490398693
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Createspace Independent Publishing Platform, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. The Way of the Phoenix is a companion volume to The Gospel of the Phoenix. As the latter book explored the life of Jesus from a new perspective, this work uses the style of wisdom literature to offer insights into life, ethics and meaning. The Way of the Phoenix is divided into two sections. The first is a series of tales modeled after the parables of Jesus, the fables of Aesop, the stories of Hans Christian Andersen and others. The second is a series of teachings in the style of proverbs, sayings and aphorisms, grouped according to subject matter. All the material here is original, but the subjects are familiar. The Way of the Phoenix is a work in the tradition of Kahlil Gibran, Paul Coelho and others who have used the language of legend and fable to tell new stories based on timeless truths. Bookseller Inventory # APC9781490398693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.12
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Stifyn Emrys
Published by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform, United States (2013)
ISBN 10: 1490398694 ISBN 13: 9781490398693
New Paperback Quantity Available: 10
Print on Demand
Seller:
The Book Depository US
(London, United Kingdom)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Createspace Independent Publishing Platform, United States, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: New. Language: English . Brand New Book ***** Print on Demand *****. The Way of the Phoenix is a companion volume to The Gospel of the Phoenix. As the latter book explored the life of Jesus from a new perspective, this work uses the style of wisdom literature to offer insights into life, ethics and meaning. The Way of the Phoenix is divided into two sections. The first is a series of tales modeled after the parables of Jesus, the fables of Aesop, the stories of Hans Christian Andersen and others. The second is a series of teachings in the style of proverbs, sayings and aphorisms, grouped according to subject matter. All the material here is original, but the subjects are familiar. The Way of the Phoenix is a work in the tradition of Kahlil Gibran, Paul Coelho and others who have used the language of legend and fable to tell new stories based on timeless truths. Bookseller Inventory # APC9781490398693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
From United Kingdom to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

ISBN 10: 1490398694 ISBN 13: 9781490398693
New Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
BWB
(Valley Stream, NY, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: New. This item is Print on Demand - Depending on your location, this item may ship from the US or UK. Bookseller Inventory # POD_9781490398693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 16.44
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Stifyn Emrys
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1490398694 ISBN 13: 9781490398693
New Paperback Quantity Available: > 20
Print on Demand
Seller:
BuySomeBooks
(Las Vegas, NV, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. Paperback. Book Condition: New. This item is printed on demand. Paperback. 174 pages. Dimensions: 8.9in. x 6.0in. x 0.6in.The Way of the Phoenix is a companion volume to The Gospel of the Phoenix. As the latter book explored the life of Jesus from a new perspective, this work uses the style of wisdom literature to offer insights into life, ethics and meaning. The Way of the Phoenix is divided into two sections. The first is a series of tales modeled after the parables of Jesus, the fables of Aesop, the stories of Hans Christian Andersen and others. The second is a series of teachings in the style of proverbs, sayings and aphorisms, grouped according to subject matter. All the material here is original, but the subjects are familiar. The Way of the Phoenix is a work in the tradition of Kahlil Gibran, Paul Coelho and others who have used the language of legend and fable to tell new stories based on timeless truths. This item ships from La Vergne,TN. Paperback. Bookseller Inventory # 9781490398693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 15.42
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.95
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Emrys, Stifyn
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
ISBN 10: 1490398694 ISBN 13: 9781490398693
New PAPERBACK Quantity Available: > 20
Seller:
Russell Books
(Victoria, BC, Canada)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. PAPERBACK. Book Condition: New. 1490398694 Special order direct from the distributor. Bookseller Inventory # ING9781490398693

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy New
US$ 14.61
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.00
From Canada to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

Stifyn Emrys
Published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (2013)
ISBN 10: 1490398694 ISBN 13: 9781490398693
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller:
Books Express
(Portsmouth, NH, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform, 2013. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Ships with Tracking Number! INTERNATIONAL WORLDWIDE Shipping available. May not contain Access Codes or Supplements. Buy with confidence, excellent customer service!. Bookseller Inventory # 1490398694

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 98.04
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds