Stock Image

The Weirdstone of Brisingamen: A Tale of Alderley

Garner, Alan

Published by Walck, NY, 1969
ISBN 10: 0809824108 / ISBN 13: 9780809824106
Used / Cloth / Quantity Available: 1
From On The Road Books (Waynesboro, PA, U.S.A.)
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book
Add to basket
Price: US$ 25.00
Convert Currency
Shipping: US$ 4.50
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

30 Day Returns Policy

Save for Later

About the Book

Bibliographic Details


Title: The Weirdstone of Brisingamen: A Tale of ...

Publisher: Walck, NY

Publication Date: 1969

Binding: Cloth

Book Condition: Almost Fine

Dust Jacket Condition: Very Good

Edition: Revised Edition

Book Type: Modern Literature

Description:

Book has light age toning on top paper edges, name in ink on FFEP, light touch of soil on paper fore-edges and bottom paper edges. DJ has 2"x1" piece missing on bottom edge of DJ spine, 1" rough tear on top front edge of DJ, 4 corners of DJ are lightly knicked, light rubbing on top edge of DJ spine, small piece missing on top rear edge of DJ. 253pp. Brown cloth. 1st Printing of Revised Edition. Tight, square, bright copy with firm corners. No remainder mark. No internal notes or markings. Unclipped pictorial DJ in Mylar cover ($5.00). USPS Tracking provided. (H) Size: 8vo - over 7¾" - 9¾" tall. Bookseller Inventory # 17973

About this title:

Book ratings provided by GoodReads:
3.99 avg rating
(4,857 ratings)

Synopsis: Neither Susan nor her brother, Colin, ever thought that war would be waged over a simple gemstone in her bracelet. But that's what happens when the children visit Alderley Edge, a spooky place in a remote part of England. There, they meet the wizard Cadellin, who needs the stone to rouse his allies in the never-ending battle between good and evil. But when the stone vanishes, Susan and Colin must find it before the forces of evil use it to destroy all the goodness that ever existed in the world.      Includes an afterword by the author.  

Review: Readers who love E. Nesbit or Susan Cooper may discover a new favorite in Alan Garner, winner of many awards for literary excellence including the Carnegie Medal. The Weirdstone of Brisingamen, first published in 1960, is the story of two children, Susan and Colin, who are sent to rural England to stay with Bess Mossock, their mother's childhood nurse. The Mossocks' farm is delightfully old-fashioned, and the Alderley area is dotted with interesting woods to explore as well as treacherous disused mines. Susan and Colin encounter a frightening local woman, and feel they are being watched by crows. The air of menace quickly becomes acute danger as the children are pursued by small goblinlike beings, who truss them in cobwebby ropes. An ancient wizard named Cadellin comes to their rescue. As they learn more of the dark forces that threaten Alderley, Susan and Colin find themselves on the run through the abandoned mine tunnels, aided by a pair of heroic dwarfs.

Garner's knowledge of folklore and the Alderley area--his characters' dialect sounds realistic instead of like rote fantasy-speak--imbues his story with a thoughtful depth. His writing is as clear as poetry: "And they passed between the stones, only to stop short a couple of paces later, with despair in their hearts, cold as the east wind." There is a sequel to The Weirdstone of Brisingamen, called The Moon of Gomrath, and both books are superbly written, absorbing tales of wizardry and adventure. --Blaise Selby

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bookseller & Payment Information

Payment Methods

This bookseller accepts the following methods of payment:

  • American Express
  • Check
  • MasterCard
  • Money Order
  • PayPal
  • Visa

[Search this Seller's Books]

[List this Seller's Books]

[Ask Bookseller a Question]

Bookseller: On The Road Books
Address: Waynesboro, PA, U.S.A.

AbeBooks Bookseller Since: November 9, 1999
Bookseller Rating: 4-star rating

Terms of Sale:

Payment by check or money order in US dollars. We accept payment by Visa, MasterCard, Discover, cash, check or PayPal. Books are returnable for any reason within 7 days. Buyer pays for shipping & insurance. Books shipped by Priority Mail or Media Mail unless otherwise arranged. Larger shipments sent by most economical and secure method.



Shipping Terms:

Shipping costs are based on books weighing 2.2 LB, or 1 KG. If your book order is heavy or oversized, we may contact you to let you know extra shipping is required.


Store Description: On The Road Books, PO Box 24, Waynesboro, PA. Phone 717-762-4948. Michael & Shirley Kohler, Booksellers. We accept check, money order or PayPal.