The Weirdstone of Brisingamen: A Tale of Alderley

ISBN 10: 015205636X / ISBN 13: 9780152056360
Used / Quantity Available: 0
Available From More Booksellers
View all  copies of this book

About the Book

We're sorry; this specific copy is no longer available. AbeBooks has millions of books. We've listed similar copies below.

Description:

The Weirdstone of Brisingamen: A Tale of Alderley. Bookseller Inventory #

About this title:

Book ratings provided by Goodreads:
3.99 avg rating
(5,359 ratings)

Synopsis: Neither Susan nor her brother, Colin, ever thought that war would be waged over a simple gemstone in her bracelet. But that's what happens when the children visit Alderley Edge, a spooky place in a remote part of England. There, they meet the wizard Cadellin, who needs the stone to rouse his allies in the never-ending battle between good and evil. But when the stone vanishes, Susan and Colin must find it before the forces of evil use it to destroy all the goodness that ever existed in the world.    Includes an afterword by the author. 

Review: Readers who love E. Nesbit or Susan Cooper may discover a new favorite in Alan Garner, winner of many awards for literary excellence including the Carnegie Medal. The Weirdstone of Brisingamen, first published in 1960, is the story of two children, Susan and Colin, who are sent to rural England to stay with Bess Mossock, their mother's childhood nurse. The Mossocks' farm is delightfully old-fashioned, and the Alderley area is dotted with interesting woods to explore as well as treacherous disused mines. Susan and Colin encounter a frightening local woman, and feel they are being watched by crows. The air of menace quickly becomes acute danger as the children are pursued by small goblinlike beings, who truss them in cobwebby ropes. An ancient wizard named Cadellin comes to their rescue. As they learn more of the dark forces that threaten Alderley, Susan and Colin find themselves on the run through the abandoned mine tunnels, aided by a pair of heroic dwarfs.

Garner's knowledge of folklore and the Alderley area--his characters' dialect sounds realistic instead of like rote fantasy-speak--imbues his story with a thoughtful depth. His writing is as clear as poetry: "And they passed between the stones, only to stop short a couple of paces later, with despair in their hearts, cold as the east wind." There is a sequel to The Weirdstone of Brisingamen, called The Moon of Gomrath, and both books are superbly written, absorbing tales of wizardry and adventure. --Blaise Selby

"About this title" may belong to another edition of this title.

Bibliographic Details

Title: The Weirdstone of Brisingamen: A Tale of ...
Book Condition: Good

Top Search Results from the AbeBooks Marketplace

1.

Alan Garner
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Pro Quo Books
(Hammond, IN, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers. Paperback. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. little to no wear, pages are clean. The cover and binding are crisp with next no creases. Bookseller Inventory # 2731108763

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.46
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

2.

Alan Garner
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
OwlsBooks
(Toledo, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description HMH Books for Young Readers. Paperback. Book Condition: VERY GOOD. Very Good copy, cover and pages show some wear from reading and storage. Binding may have light creases. Lots of life left in these pages. Bookseller Inventory # 2770065527

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.48
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

3.

Alan Garner
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Yankee Clipper Books
(Windsor Locks, CT, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Book shows a small amount of wear to cover and binding. Some pages show signs of use. Bookseller Inventory # G015205636XI3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

4.

Alan Garner
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Silver Arch Books
(St Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Book has a small amount of wear visible on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G015205636XI3N00

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

5.

Alan Garner
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Silver Arch Books
(St Louis, MO, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Paperback. Book Condition: Good. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Book has a small amount of wear visible on the binding, cover, pages. Bookseller Inventory # G015205636XI3N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

6.

Alan Garner
Published by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Free State Books
(Halethorpe, MD, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company. Paperback. Book Condition: Fair. Ex-Library Book - will contain Library Markings. Bookseller Inventory # G015205636XI5N10

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 6.49
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: FREE
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

7.

Garner, Alan
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
medimops
(Berlin, Germany)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: good. 272 Gramm. Bookseller Inventory # M0015205636X-G

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 7.86
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 7.06
From Germany to U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

8.

ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
Used Quantity Available: 1
Seller
stressfreebooks
(Bay City, MI, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Book Condition: LikeNew. Different cover art than shown, same exact book. LIKE NEW: Little to no shelf wear, no signs of use. Ships fast secure, expedited available!. Bookseller Inventory # 3UBDHI0004T3

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.24
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

9.

Garner, Alan
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Bacobooks
(Los Alamitos, CA, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Paperback. Book Condition: Very Good. Reissue. Bookseller Inventory # K-770-292

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 5.69
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

10.

Alan Garner
Published by Sandpiper (2006)
ISBN 10: 015205636X ISBN 13: 9780152056360
Used Paperback Quantity Available: 1
Seller
Ergodebooks
(RICHMOND, TX, U.S.A.)
Rating
[?]

Book Description Sandpiper, 2006. Paperback. Book Condition: Used: Good. Bookseller Inventory # SONG015205636X

More Information About This Seller | Ask Bookseller a Question

Buy Used
US$ 8.28
Convert Currency

Add to Basket

Shipping: US$ 3.99
Within U.S.A.
Destination, Rates & Speeds

There are 13 more copies of this book

View all search results for this book